We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“very convenient”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This Premier Inn is very well located being just outside Chester and convenient for visitors to town or for those seeking to spend a night en-route to North Wales. The room was larger than most and very well cared for. The bathroom was spotlessly clean

We have paid much more for much less elsewhere.

We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel and instead walked 100m to Sainsbury's which has a rather good cafe attached with good food at low prices

We shall be staying at this hotel again soon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPALTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    381
    95
    15
    8
See reviews for
399
418
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed in this hotel. Having wanted a couple of nights away in the Chester/Wales area, this was the best available and also a bargain at £60 for 2 nights midweek! It's in a very handy location as only 10 mins drive into the centre of Chester and just off the main route into Wales.
Checked in with no problem at all, receptionist was friendly and efficient and had no problems later on when we asked for an extra towel & tea/coffee/milk etc.
The room was spacious and the bed comfy. We were on the ground floor which overlooked the hotel entrance and thought we would have a noisy room but hardly heard any external noise at all.
Breakfast was available in the pub next door but we decided to venture across to Sainsbury's over the road and paid a total of just under £10 for 2 x breakfasts/drinks both mornings. Premier Inn breakfasts are £8.25 each - probably better quality at Sainsbury's and they serve breakfast until 11.30am.
We ate in the pub on one of the evenings and sampled their curry night - can't say we were impressed with the food on offer and not much spice to them either. Coming from Yorkshire, we've sampled a few decent curry's!!
Would definitely stay here again / recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirfield_Sian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stopped at for 1 night in October 2013 in a double room.

Summary
A modern & comfortable hotel in a quiet area of Chester, yet located close to Chester city centre.

This review is based on my stay in room 61 which is on the 2nd floor .

The rooms amenities include: 1x double bed, table & chair, large flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities with kettle & mugs, hair dryer, chaise longue, bath with over head shower.

Hotel amenities include: Limited free wifi, reception with seating and vending area, bar and restaurant (adjacent), free car parking.

Located on Caldy Valley Road, opposite a petrol station, a super market and nearby is an out of town retail area, but with only a 10 minute drive to the city centre.

My room (61) was clean, comfortable, quiet and modern with a comfortable bed with duvet. The room was of a decent size, but was very warm, despite turning down the heating via the thermostat. The room is typical of a Premier Inn.

On arrival the reception staff was very welcoming and friendly, however, my room wasn't ready, despite being well past the advertised check in time.

Breakfast wasn't included in the room rate and was Buffet style and included a selection of fruit, yoghurt, cereals, breads and traditional cooked breakfast items (soya milk and vegetarian sausages available to order).

Overall I would stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TortMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Ten of us stayed at this hotel over the weekend of the Chester Marathon with seven of us running. From the moment we arrived to when we left all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was opened early on the Sunday so that runners could have a breakfast before setting off on their 26.2 miles journey. Having a restaurant/pub next door meant that the hotel building was very quiet. The food in the restaurant/pub on the Sunday eveniing after the run was well prepared and a very reasonable price as were the beer prices. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Running the marathon it was very helpful to have ground floor rooms with no stairs to negotiate afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterHerts2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

From the minute we arrived we had a warm welcome from the staff on reception and as in all Premier inns we had a good nights sleep in a lovely room, plenty of space and to a high standard.
The restaurant/pub next door was also lovely and provided quality food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: No lift so make sure you advise the staff in advance if you need a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We found this a very pleasant hotel, with a clean comfortable room and an excellent breakfast on both days of our stay. Reception service was welcoming and friendly, though the decor in the reception area is a little tired and would benefit from being refreshed. We were quite disappointed, however, with the servicing of our room when we returned to it after a day out. Although the bed had been made up and the room tidied, there were a number of issues: the bathroom basin had not been cleaned, nor had the surfaces in the bathroom; towels left in the bath had not been replaced; and the cups had not been washed or the coffee and tea replenished. Quite a shame, as otherwise this is a pleasant Premier Inn in a good location. The price we paid (booked online) was not actually that low - about the same as the Mercure nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birningham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very helpful friendly staff. Weekend I booked was very busy with wedding parties and children. Could hear nothing once in room. Spotlessly clean, Good efficient room cleaners and smiley informative reception staff. Restaurant very busy but nothing was too much trouble, If there was a delay there was an apology. All in all excellent value for money, Good location for Chester and charming market town of Nantwich definitely worth a visit.

Jane ..........Birmingham

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobo033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
5.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Address: Caldy Valley Road | Boughton, Chester CH3 5PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#2 Family Hotel in Chester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just 2 miles away from Chester, our hotel is the perfect base to discover local attractions, including Chester Zoo. Our hotel offers a variety of rooms for all requirements. With an all you can eat breakfast available and up to 2 children can eat free. Brewers Fayre restaurant also serves good pub favorites in a welcoming environment with indoor play facilities.There is free parking on site for guests and a 24-hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing