We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

we arrived 3 hours prior to the reccommended check in time, we was able to check in straight away which was a great start to our day. The swimming pool,jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were very much enjoyrd my me and my partner and helped us to relax and unwind. The hotel is located perfectly close to the town centre and over looking the canal..Our room was cosy and comfortable and contained everythin we required although our room was quite small.The restuarant prices were quite expensive though, although the breakfast was included in the room price and was delicious.I would definitely reccommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amierw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    487
    225
    49
    32
See reviews for
160
674
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My Partner and I took my 75 year old mother to this hotel and the two days we stayed were an absolute nightmare, they obviously have a scam whereby they will at every opportunity take money from your credit card and will accuse you of smoking on the premises, they acused my 75 year old mother who is in ill health of smoking on the premises because the cleaners root through the bins to seek/ find or create evidence.

The general Manager Marietta Wiliams (The owners sister) decided to simply take £150 off my poor mothers credit cared without any further ado, when I took this matter up with the manager she agreed to be lenient due to my mothers age and ill health and stated that she would only charge her £60 instead! needless to say she still took £90 off the credit card...I wonder if they pay tax on this easily acquired income? I would never stay here again and it has in fact put me off going to Chester in general. I found the staff rude and patronising and many could not understand English.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillHotel, Manager at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Response to Keith2811 from Maretta Williams, Hotel Manager.

Dear Keith,
I am responding to your review of your stay at The Mill Hotel.

The Mill Hotel is a NO SMOKING Hotel and has been for many years, long before the National Smoking Ban came into force. Our policy is clearly advertised on our website, Terms & conditions, Signage in the rooms & throughout the hotel & clearly on the registration forms signed on check in. The decision was taken as a business decision to avoid loss of revenue & to make the atmosphere pleasant for all our guests.
The hotel can be fined up to £2500 by the courts for allowing someone to smoke. I believe you do not nor did dispute the fact that Mrs Godfrey was smoking. The charge (which was reduced to £90) appears on your bill so is automatically declared in our sales so is therefore declared to the Tax Authorities.
Please see my reply sent to you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during the freezing cold and snowy week before Christmas. We spent some time wandering around the historic parts of the city but we spent far more time than anticipated in the hotel staying warm. The room itself was warm, clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The only slight disappointment was that our room had a frosted window. We would have preferred a view of a car park to no view at all but ultimately it was not critical. The TV was a little confusing given that various stations were not on the channels stated on the wall notice. We suspected previous occupiers had been messing around with the settings. Nonetheless, we found what we were looking for.

Breakfasts were served in the main restaurant area. The staff were generally very helpful and attentive. One guy amused us with his eccentricity; one woman scared us a bit with her queries about whether we would like any toast. We politely declined. We made use of the restaurant one evening to avoid going out into the cold. If you wish, you can have your meal on the hotel's canal boat and have a nice ride. This was still operating during our stay despite the icy water. Not many people were either on the boat or in the restaurant when we dined there and the room was somewhat chilly - but these were exceptional times. Food at all times was good, not outstanding but not disappointing either.

The hotel has an excellent swimming pool and gym, which we used each day. By normal hotel standards, this gym was particularly well equipped and quite sizeable. A member of staff was in the gym each time I used it.

The hotel has a number of pieces of public art in the courtyard and parking areas. Whilst they are all rhinos, and similar in style to Liverpool's Superlambananas, they certainly added a dash of colour to an otherwise bland entrance area dominated by hard surfacing.

All in all, an extremely good hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We had this hotel recommended to us by friends. We enjoyed our stay at this central hotel in Chester and would recommend it too. Staff friendly, rooms good nothing to complain about at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

what a great stay i had the staff where so lovely and helpfull the hotel is 5 minutes walk frm chester city centre food was lovely the hotel room was a good size the hotel spa was great i would go back to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We were looking forward to our stay in Chester at half term. We booked on line and upgraded to a club room. As we approached the hotel my heart sank a little as the front door was in need of a lick of paint and the reception was small,cramped and dated. Our room was clean but old fashioned and there was mould on the sealant around the bath. There was no separate hair conditioner or shampoo just a general bottle of 'stuff' to use for showering and bathing. The hotel was very popular with lots of customers but for us it did not hit the mark and we will not be returning. Breakfast was very average with tinned fruit and tasteless tomatoes.

On a positive note Chester was lovely for shopping, cream teas and italian food .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gesa066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Stayed as weekend break. Asked for a canalside room and this was arranged by E.Rainford. The rooms facing the dual carriageway can be noisy.It was noticeable that there were enough staff on duty at all times to make the guests stay as pleasurable as possible. Especially at breakfast time when they were all kept busy but were cheerful. Excellent inside pool.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdsjjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing