We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best hotels in chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“one of the best hotels in chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

we found this hotel by chance and what a find, spanning both sides of the canal this hotel boasts a superb restaurant at reasonable prices serving a great full english buffet breakfast, a superb real ale bar with canal frontage at better than pub prices, a great gym,spa and swimming pool, superb large bedrooms, even though ours faced the main road there was no noise at all. it even has it's own barge for evening meals and to top it all it's own car park. being only 4 minutes walk from the centre of chester makes this hotel a must.
we can't recomend it enough

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamieson483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    489
    225
    49
    32
See reviews for
160
677
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Easy to find near town centre.Stayed for birthday treat and enjoyed the spa package.Excellent in every way.Really comfortable room,spacious and very clean.Excellent treatments in spa.Dinner first class food and good ambience in Canaletto restaurant.Good hearty breakfast,buffet style with good choice.Friendly staff.Would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koeln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days. The hotel is almost in the city center so you can walk to the downtown. It is also very close to the train station if you wanted to take a trip to London or Liverpool. The hotel has a very good service, at least 3 restaurants and bars, it has swimming pool and the gym.

The food I had in the restaurant was absolutely great! 3 course dinner was only 14 Pounds + drinks. So excelant quality for value.

The rooms are nice, the bed was comfortable. I really liked the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adgamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

had a superb stay at chester & mill hotel its a beer drinkers haven so much choice, a super resturant & swimming facilities, super staff well done all its the full package and will def stop there again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stopped off in Chester en-route from London to Stirling and decided to enquire at the Mill Hotel for a double room fir one night. The reception staff were very helpfull and were able to provide 1 night B&B (full Scottish) for £75. The room was a Standard Double and a reasonable size bathroom a bit small (one at a time please!) The location of the hotel is 5 min walk to Chester City Centre and out of the biz a bit, but is right on the canal. The hotel has a canal restaurant barge as one eating option, a very unusual covered walkway over the canal which links to their second mill building which has a spa / pool / buety salon and another restaurant. We ate at the nearby Chester Tandoori Restaurant, which if you like Indian food - is a must! The breakfast was very good and service excellent. A perfect location for a short trip to Chester.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AilFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed at the Mill Hotel for a friends 40th weekend in Chester. The hotel is ideally located just a few minutes walk from the shops & nightlife. The public areas do look a little tired but the rooms were fine, very clean & comfortable. We had trouble sleeping both nights because the room was very hot, even with the windows open but we did ask for a fan at reception on our way out & when we returned later that evening it had been delivered & set up for us, It helped but the room was still like a sauna.

We used the pool & spa which were very nice. The breakfast was lovely, buffet style with fruit, cereals, full English etc.

The only down side we found was the car park. There was plenty of room (we had to park in the second car park) but it was in a terrible state & as we had had some heavy rain it was one big puddle.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Mill Hotel & would stay again if visiting Chester.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

This is our second visit to the Mill Hotel & Spa this year, on one of their great value midweek breaks 2 night stays. Great vale for money with great facilities and a fantastic location in the centre of Chester with more than adequate parking. Friendly staff and great food - we will be back - highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedders67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing