We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay would go back.”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We got there at 12 and was told we could go to our rooms staright away. The reception staff was friendly enough and we then went on our travels to find our rooms. There was 8 girls sharing 2 rooms. We found the lifts which was through the bar and was very small and dull old fashioned type lift. Which u could only get 2 people in at a time. We was over the bridge and the inside hotel was not very well sign posted as it is a big hotel split over 2 buildings you need good sign posts. We finally got to our rooms 20 mins later and after meet ing two very rude chamber maids. The rooms were lovely spacious and very clean. The beds were very comfortable. Easily fit 4 of us in there. We had clean towels on the saturday morning and beds made which was nice because we hadnt been there 24 hours y then. We went for a drink which was nice and the bar snacks were lovely, some of the youger staff were friendly and pleasant but the older staff were not so nice. rude even. The hotel of the nite was full of non residents watchin the football and was very busy and uncomfortable.The bar is also cheaper in the day than the evening. We then went out of the hotel which again we found the people of chester very unfriendly and arrogant. We then went for our treatments in the spa which was wonderful best massage ive had in a long time. The pool and sauna was lovely and clean. We also had breakfast in the hotel which had a lovely choice and was very fresh and well cooked. Again pitt about the staff rude and wasnt very friendly. We asked where the best nightlife was and was told all sorts by different people which was gud as there is a lot of choice in chester. After our nite out on the saturday we arrived back at the hotel at 5 in the morning and was let in by the cleaner and restaurant manager kindly made us a cup of t and made us feel really welcome even tho it was early hours and when we got up for breakfast he was the manager in the restaurant so he looked after us well even tho he had worked all nite and morning. We left the hotel about 11 the next morning and on the way home we got a phone call that one of the girls had left her wedding ring in the bathroom and we went back for it. which was very nice of them. We had a lovely weekend and would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gudtimegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,460 - 1,466 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2009

We have just had the most wonderfull experience having stayed at the Mill for a few days,the hotel is perfectly situated to walk into Chester centre,the staff are wonderfull,the rooms are great and the beds are very comfortable. We did the evening dinner on the canal boat which we have to say was extremely well organised and great value for money. The next visit will certainly be for longer we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

The reception staff a rude and unhelpful everything was an effort. The rooms are standard and not up to date. The hotel resturant was overpriced and the food was cold and awful. The bar area was full of drunks watching football not even staying at hotel. The swimming pool was full of members who were also not staying at hotel and the children were looked upon for splashing and enjoying there holiday. Lifts are dangerous and the whole place needs a make-over. Would never go back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleymichael09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Check in efficient, charged us more than it would have cost via Laterooms. Didn't tell us about dining options or that a jazz band would be playing that evening - so we went out - had we known we would have eaten in - their loss not ours. Room tiny, with shabby dated decor. Dressing table stood before window and mirror obscured light and view. Too much road noise prohibited the opening of the window so the room was stuffy. Bathroom compact but clean. Nowhere to put our toilet bag - it had to sit on the floor. Only one set of towels, second set arrived promptly. Pool great.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L__022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Booked for a 2 night stay with my husband and we thoroughly enjoyed it. When we checked in the reception staff were very helpful and had even given us a complimentary room upgrade. I thought it was because I had stayed there the previous week with my Mum, sister and 2 nieces for a girls Spa night but apparently not. We made use of the Spa facilities and the bar during the afternoon and dined in the hotel restaurant in the evening. The first night we requested a Chateaubriand steak off the A la Carte menu but they didn’t have any left so we chose from the set menu and the food was lovely, the second evening we dined in the restaurant again and they had reserved Chateaubriand for us (we asked at reception that afternoon when booking our table), again we could not fault the food or the service. After our afternoon sessions in the Spa we stopped off at the bar for a drink before getting ready for dinner. The bar staff were very polite and helpful and there was a nice atmosphere in there. We didn’t eat in the bar area but the food looked really good. Parking was no problem and it is just a few minutes walk into the centre of Chester. We will definitely go back again. Next time we will try the river cruise as it looked really good fun.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Hotel staff were friendly and polite, bar was too busy with non residents watching sport, no where for us to sit.The lift was accessed through the bar, on saturday night, we couldnt even walk throug the bar to get to it.Our room (417)was hot and stuffy, also noisy, due to being above the kitchens, with a large outside extraction fan on the go all day and night. Did not use leisure facilities, but they looked 1st class.Meal in restaurant was average, and to be honest expensive for what it was.We ate in a restaurant in chester, 2 mins away, which was superb, and half the price.Parking was difficult.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfdlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Been coming here once or twice a year for 16 years. Love the location - park your car up at the hotel and then it is just a short walk into the city itself. Restaurant food is excellent value for money as are the bar prices. Lesiure facilites great. Lively atmosphere in the public bar especially if you like your sport. The hotel may be in need of updating in some areas but this does not detract in any way form your enjoyment and loads of people you speak to are return visitors which speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb_Oll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $108 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing