We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10/10 absolutely fantastic!”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“10/10 absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Myself and boyfriends parents spent the new year at the mill hotel for a 2 night stay including dinner boat cruise. Every single Elmer of our stay was fantastic. Having stated in many beautiful hotels were were very surprised to see a 5 star standard for a 3 star hotel. The dinner cruise was superb and each night the food was excellent! We stayed in the premier room which is highly recommended, beautiful balcony and views with a jacuzzi in bathroom and very comfy bed! The staff were always willing to go extra mile and the owners made a point of coming to speak to us which made our stay ever so special and personal! We will most definitely be back, a hidden gem xxx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisadoc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    502
    229
    49
    33
See reviews for
165
693
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Standard room, ample in size, comfy bed and huge tv. Bottled water, iron and trouser press, hairdryer (though not next to a mirror). Tea and coffee making.
Plus (LOVELY TOUCH) Chocolates, Card signed by all staff and two small bottles of Prosecco.(A new year special I presume?)
Excellent food and very helpful staff. These guys really know what they are doing and deserve all the praise that's going. The Hotel was packed but you would not have guessed it, each area working like clockwork!
You could be put off by the approach to this hotel, by necessity it is surrounded by roads and a slightly scruffy car park but the parking is included and free. But once inside the double glazing negates any road noise.Staff are lovely and VERY PROFESSIONAL.
Boat trip with meal is an entertaining diversion. The Hotel is very central for shopping and sight seeing.
Only one small grizzle (and this applies to SO MANY hotels), please could we have more bathroom shelves? My husband and I both have large toilet bags and frequently have nowhere to put them!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherofthebride35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Recently returned from our first stay at this great hotel, although full there was never a problem, staff were extremely friendly, bar service and food first class and very reasonable for a city centre hotel, bar is well stocked and has several tellies showing sky sports. Club rooms really nice with bath and shower and separate sofa bed. Room overlooked the canal and was really quiet. This is one warm hotel and you certainly don't need and winter woollies within the hotel. We looked around the gym and pool and it looked fabulous and is free for guests, Wi Fi is also free in these rooms. You are literally 5 minutes from the city centre and all Chester has to offer. Car parking is secure and free to all guests.

Already booked a second visit. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colbyco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

A very pleasant stay at this hotel. Ideally located on the canal, only 10 mins. walk to the shops. Despite the fact the hotel was very busy we found no noise nuisance at all in our room which was a club room on the other side of the canal and furthermore there was no noise from the road outside. The room was spotless and service was good. The only complaint we had is that even though we were residents the hotel could not accommodate us in any of their restaurants on either evening of our stay and offered no alternatives to this problem. They are obviously more interested in local diners than residents. Arrived early in the day so parking was no problem for us. All in all considering Chester hotel rates good value for money. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Club rooms are modern,spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the City Centre. although it has its own car park it can often get quite busy due to the small size of it. The rooms have adequate storage space and the bathroom isn't an awful size, free wifi also!

The reception staff are attentive and polite. Breakfast is quite good and varied, as is the evening menu which includes pub snacks and pizzas to more traditional meals. The bar has more atmosphere than the average hotel bar which is nice

The facilities are good with the swimming pool, sauna,steam room and gym being clean and adequately equipped. the canal boat that the Mill Hotel has provides meals with trips along the canal, the food is good and the staff here are also efficient and friendly... it's quite a nice touch!

Room Tip: have stopped here numerous times, can get very warm in the rooms in summer. Also, try securing a can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Average hotel weirdly set out 90% of staff eastern European so very hard understand bathroom if your large good luck using toilet breakfast ok part from industrial bacon staff at breakfast looked unhappy stood around miserable

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zondac12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Another excellent Christmas break at The Mill. Room spotless, food excellent and very nice spa centre. Great staff and really well organised by Steven and Emma, plenty of staff on to make the break very easy. Only disappointing thing was weak entertainment this year, it was better with the stage in the centre and a separate dance floor. The band on the 23rd was good, but the others, um.
We will still be back. Thanks all. Terry

Room Tip: Fantastic location for a visit to Chester, have a business class room, it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing