We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and a nice hotel in need of some tlc”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The mill is located only a short walk from the city centre and the train station and a pleasant 20 minute walk to the racecourse which makes it very convenient. We stayed over a race weekend and like most hotels in Chester that means a minimum 2 night stay. We opted for Club room having stayed in a normal room on another visit, for a room costing over £100 per night b&b it wasn't really up to scratch. It was larger than a standard room but the sofa was a sofa bed that was uncomfortable to sit on for long and it was really only what other hotels call a family room. The furniture was ok but could do with a update and the decor a bit tired. The toiletries in the bathroom are more reminiscent of a budget hotel rather than a "club room" in a "hotel and spa" with soap dispensers the wall. Our room was overlooking the canal which was very pleasant but one our group overlooked the road and commented that it was like being track side at Brands Hatch. If you like real ale the bar is excellent with a really great selection of beers. It is a bit small but the service was great with plenty of staff on who knew what they were doing and for a hotel the prices are very reasonable. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and is a buffet with a reasonable but not outstanding selection but very helpful staff. All in all even though it needs a bit of an overhaul the Mill is still a really nice hotel with a decent bar, restaurant and helpful, efficient staff. Would we come again, all things considered yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal and if it is hot book a fan early as the rooms can get hot and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divepetem9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed five times now. Great hotel lovely breakfast . Nice quiet swimming pool area. Less than five minute walk to the centre of Chester. Special thanks to Janet restaurant who is great with children and really friendly.

Room Tip: Family rooms are a great size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hla83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a midweek special which meant we had dinner included in the restaurant one night. It's a great place with very friendly staff, particularly those on reception. Breakfast is excellent. The meal in the hotel was lovely. The bar is well worth checking out - they do lunches in there which were really good. We had sandwich and baked potato which were ideal after our journey. Rooms are nice but do expect road noise- your in a city after all! We were across the bridge and the room faced the road and it was WARM! Very pleasant stay and we would stay again but don't expect your best nights sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Really nice place to stay, extremely helpful reception staff, very welcoming and accommodating after trying another scruffy hotel in the vicinity.
Restaurant evening and breakfast food - very good - would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Arrived at the mill for 2 nights stay while enjoying a weekend at the races with friends,,,, having stayed last year and really enjoying our time there we had no hesitation in returning,,, again reception was welcoming,,,, rooms where comfortable,,,,,, swimming pool and spa idyllic.....however breakfast could have been better......sausages were the worst ive ever tasted.....and had to wait for toast.....also felt more squashed in this year and difficult to manover tables.....on the 2nd evening we decided to eat at the bar......again our friend had to send back a meal as it tasted very odd,,, and being meat pie ,,, risky....on joining the dj in the resturant the waiter was rude on many occasions and made me feel very unwelcome, ( we had changed into jeans and tops as we had been dressed up all dayat the races and just wanted to relax ) he really needs to remember we are paying guests and maybe teach himself a few manners.....however apart from this the receptionist was amazing and went to the trouble of finding one of our ladies a safety pin in an emergency situation and the breakfast staff were lovely....only other down side was the heat in the hotel......was really warm.....the weekend has left me wondering if we will have a return visit next year,,,,, or will we be finding somewhere else ????????????????????

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ANGIE2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights last week, room was large and very clean, although near road, no noise at all when window closed, even if bit open,beds very comfy, and the iron n ironing board great. Check in was friendly and quick, and we left our luggage as we arrived early and went into town, when we returned our bags were already in our room.
We had dinner 1 night in caneletto, and it was very good.
Breakfast was self service, and hot and tasty.
We would of loved the afternoon tea cruise, but sadly we had a change of plan.
The pool was lovely and warm.
The only down side was that the room was very hot.
all in all a great time.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank purdypuss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have stayed at the Mill Hotel and Spa several times, mostly when we go to Chester races but also for weekends away and have now booked to go close to Christmas to see Chester lights and enjoy more of the Mlll Hotels' disco entertainment and good old fashioned customer service. We enjoy dancing the night away to great music after a lovely meal with very reasonably priced drinks and the extra add on of bacon baps brought round at midnight for free is a very well thought out customer satisfaction winner. Who doesn't enjoy a crispy bacon roll after an enjoyable evening of fun? DH Bucks

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,544 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $108 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing