We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good couple of days in Chester”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really good couple of days in Chester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Booked the Mill Hotel and Spa from Lastminute.com good value for a hotel in the City. Difficult to drive to and once found the car park and exterior made us groan. But once past that the canal side aspect is fine and with pleasant, helpful staff, real ale in the bar (its on the Chester Real Ale Trail) a very well equipped Gym and large pool with sauna and steam rooms it lives up to expectations. Twice we made a request for something from housekeeping and within a very short time the need was met by the staff. Room and all facilities clean and pleasant. Breakfast is plentiful and good with staff very attentive and chatty. Unusually for a hotel although only ordinary double beds (in standard rooms) very comfortable and not the usual board-like hardness. It is a fairly pleasant, 3minute walk along the canal to get onto the city Wall and into the centre. Impressed to find a complimentary Electric Car charging point in the car park. Would book here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHRCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    489
    225
    49
    32
See reviews for
160
676
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We are a group of 10 (female) work colleagues and every year we treat ourselves to a weekend away. We were at The Mill Fri 26th to Sunday 28th April, which was our third stay at The Mill. It was another great success!

The rooms were very comfortable (one room had a problem with the bathroom which was sorted out once reported) and the staff were very helpful/polite/courteous. The dance floor as we knew it on previous visits appears to be in the middle of renovation but the alternative area was quite acceptable for a good night.

We only ate in the hotel on Saturday night and the food was of a very good standard and the service was fab. Breakfast was busy but well organised as it always is.

Prices at the bar are more than reasonable, as was the price we paid for the two nights.

Like Arnie - "I'll be back"!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsV32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Shropshire United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I have just come back from a weekend stay at the Mill Hotel. Overall the stay was lovely, the room was fab hotel is very clean, breakfast is very good, large selection, health spa facilities are great and I strongly recommend the dinner boat experience. We will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Premier room! Modern and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penrith cumbria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

stayed here for two nights at easter, excellent hotel lovely staff, great location 2 minutes walk and you are in the town center, the breakfast was lovely and hot everything that you need didnt eat here at night so carnt comment on the food, the room was huge and very comfortable bed, would stay here again if in chester

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apricots775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Mill Hotel for 2 nights a Friday and Saturday. The friday after coming back from being out we visited the Bar they kept us prisioner their until 2 am in the morning drinking real ale at pub prices. On the Saturday evening we dined in the restaurant and had a really nice meal followed by a disco and when that finished we decened on the Bar again 2.30 am this time before we escaped lol. On the Sunday we went on the Mills canal boat for a trip which included Sunday lunch well worth it. We would of liked to of made good use of the Spa, pool and Gym but after eating a full english buffet breakfast every morning and suffering from the night before we gave it a miss. Had a great weekend easy walking distance to Chester city center.Hotel staff very friendly would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadokia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

WE have stayed at the Mill a few times now and have found it lovely and comfortable. It is very convenient for the city centre shopping. The Hotel itself is very warm and clean and food is good. The price for staying is not bad either and they have free wifi. Would recommend for shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My OH booked this as a surpise for a midweek aniversary break - he anxiously checked that it had got enough ticks - there's a spa - tick, champagne and chocolates in the the room (not standard but definitely tick), clean well laid out room and comfy bed - tick, views of the canal - tick, not typical hotel bar but buzzy real ale pub with Jazz and proper beer, nice touch if you were here for a while is the bisto/coffee shop over the bridge on the spar side.
One of the real benefits was the 5 minutes stroll up the canal to Chester, brilliant location and even a pub on the towpath to walk to! Good breakfast, friendly helpful staff - they let us check out later which was great as I was making use of the treatments. Worth a look, and makes a change from all the same old same old chains.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems worth mentioning it - we were in the modern extension and a lot of wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing