We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, room to improve”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I must start by saying that we would consider staying here again as the hotel offered a great location for our long weekend to explore the lovely chester.

We had a few niggles that weren't big enough to spoil the stay but cumulatively brought the overall impression down

We did have a great stay in chester despite the almost non stop rain; highlights include chester zoo, a walk round the city walls, a great meal at the brewery tap and some leisurely pints at the very nearby old harkers arms.

I'll start with positives
Great location & free parking
We had a large room, comfortable bed
Tv, tea, coffee biscuits etc
Great bar with local ales and open late (we had no noise disturbance as other side of the hotel)
Decent spread at breakfast
All staff very friendly even ensuring they posted a forgotten item of clothing (£5 charge)
Unfortunately didn't get to use spa as forgot swimwear, but looked good

Some of the niggles
Breakfast room extremely hot, despite it being near freezing outside and fans blasting out
Decor is very tired and could do with a revamp
We had a blocked bath so didn't drain whilst showering
Poor quality toiletries; the shampoo provided was so watery
Plug sockets were temperamental; both my partner and I had different sockets where one night it charged our mobile fine and the next didn't (yes, checked switched on, just didn't work!)
Despite playing around with the radiator there were times it got far too hot in the room
Was a stain on the sheet

To be fair, we didn't raise these things and I'm sure the staff would have done their utmost, but each little thing felt a bit moany, it's only upon reflection that they add up. We did pay £85 a night so it's not a completely budget hotel and perhaps expected a bit more.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We checked in on 21st for a three night much needed break. Reception was quick and much to our disappointment were allocated 310 this was a very small shabby double with a low ceiling beam that my 6ft husband had to duck under also you had to walk sideways to get past the bottom of the bed! We requested an alternative room and were changed to room 432 which was over the bridge in the newer part without any hesitation by reception. This room was much bigger with a king size bed a lot cleaner and had a view over the canal...and for no extra charge! We had dinner in the restaurant on Thursday night that was advertised as 14 pounds ..but be aware this is for two courses only anything extra is charged. To be honest the food was good
and the service quick I felt a bit rushed but they will slow it down if you ask. The rooms as on previous review s very hot we slept with the radiator off and Windows open. Breakfast is quite good but repetative same items every day but hot and quite well cooked.We had a bar meal on the Friday very good ...the food comes from the same kitchen and the atmosphere there is busy and relaxing.These meals are good value .sandwiches good too! The hotel is very well placed for visiting Chester a few minutes walk and you're in the town...the spa looked very nice but we didn't use it during our stay so l can't comment. Dinner dance on Saturday ....food good but be aware this is actually a disco that starts at 10 pm and goes on till late not really a dinner dance in all senses of the word!

Overall this hotel is well located but needs updating and some staff slightly indifferent when problems brought to their attention....one last thing check your bill carefully before you pay for mistakes....


  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margwalesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

For a twin room 401 is perfect,no banging doors,completely restfull night which I find hard to achieve nowadays,although overlooking both canal and dual carriageway the only noise is with the window open.Excellent WiFi,skype no problems,ironing facilities,tea & coffee, hair dryer ,bigger than average tv,nice desk and two chairs ,full bathroom and shower over bath,not the poky stuffed in corner addon as in many hotels today.The only very slight niggle is the squeky floor which I hope doesn,t annoy the people below.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife booked us 3 days in Chester and chose this hotel as not far from station and with the added bonus of spa facilities, upon arrival reception was quick and we were given a room on 5th floor .room was small very small bed bathroom and other facilities a bit dated but we were after relaxation and time together so it was ok by us , restaurant a bit stuffy and old fashioned for us so chose a local curry house instead , next day breakfast was good ( everything fried though ) not a bad selection but the bacon on offer was still making animal noises it was that lightly done. Had a hen party on our floor and to be honest was glad when they left , visited the spa facilities twice and enjoyer them a lot , our stay included a Sunday and if you wanted a lie in on the morning forget it . Room cleaning staff have a busy job but the noise from TVs and mobiles and staff having a chat outside the door and constant knocking to see if room was to be cleaned followed by a phone call to check the same was a bit tedious to be honest and didn't impress the wife , bar facility looked good busy while we were there as Wales vs England on tv. Reception staff on checking out didn't ask if we had enjoyed our stay , would go back to Chester but maybe a different hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StockportRacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel was booked by friends for a 50th birthday event. We booked the package with the dinner dance on the Friday night as well. 14 people as in 7 couples. Car parking very rough in the three or four surrounding car parks which have not been made up. Hotel very busy though and quite rightly so.
Meal in Dinner Dance very good. Steak good and the chump lamb also very good. Veg OK. Lady singer to backing tapes was excellent, sang some great backrground music and fitted in well while we ate. Disco average and he chose some poor tunes to empty and then fill the floor which took away the atmosphere.
Hotel room very good in the main block. Modern furnishing in our room but friends in the other side over the canal had tired furniture.
Canal divides the two parts of the hotel with a bridge under cover. Works well. The spa is very good and quite modern although a little tired but then these places do get used a lot.
Real ale bar excellent with a lot of choices and prices reasonable. Great atmosphere and good bar snacks.Very friendly staff all round and reception probably some of the best in any hotel I've been in. regards Mike

Room Tip: Room in main block (reception) probably better value. The superior rooms not really worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business in March with a few colleagues.

This hotel is very dated - like the type you get on an episode of The Hotel Inspector. I get the impression that this establishment is owned / run by the same person(s) that owned / ran it thirty years ago, and because of it's prime central location the business has kept coming over the years, so they haven't thought they need to change it a bit and modernise.

But it really does need modernising!

The car park is awful - tight, uneven and muddy. The lobby and hallways had that horrid exposed brick finish, paired with an old green patterned carpet, not exactly filling me with excitement over my room. When I got to my overwhelmingly beige room, it was full of mismatched and worn furniture, floral curtains and tatty, stained carpets. All three of the lampshades in my room were wonky upon arrival and the TV was one of the first 'flat' screens known to man. The level of cleanliness was just about acceptable, only because the bed and towels were nice and clean, but the rest of the room needed a lot more TLC. Dusty surfaces, wonky lamps, cobwebs, splatters of 'something' on all the mirrors, hairs all over the bathroom, dark patches in all corners and a very scaly shower head all point to a less than thorough cleaning regime. If I'd been staying there any longer than two nights or if my employer wasn't paying for me I would have insisted on a cleaner room, or gone elsewhere.

On a positive note, the wifi in the room is free and reasonably quick, albeit intermittently, and the bed was comfortable.

Then to the restaurant, with it's tacky nautical theme (based spuriously on the hotel's proximity to the canal, I'm guessing). Again, the décor is a homage to the 80's with the old style plates and cutlery and all the staff donning white gloves and bow ties. There's a strange glowing orb that changes colour on a pillar in the middle of the dining room, which I'm sure people back then thought was amazingly cool, but nowadays it seems a little bizarre to be honest! The menu is very old school and embarrassingly tries to replicate French fine dining, and all the mains seemed to come with a side of potato croquettes and broccoli cheese. You can even have a waiter serve flambéed steak at the table. Very retro!

Again, on a positive note the food was reasonably tasty and all cooked properly, and the prices were fair I thought.

The bar is the one redeeming feature of this place. The drinks are well-priced (to a Londoner, anyway) at around £2.60 for a pint and they have several screens showing sports and news. Every night it was buzzing and my colleagues and I enjoyed drinking there.

The staff were polite, but not overly friendly or helpful - just the minimum expected standard really.

In summary, this place will be very appealing to the older generation who don't like change and want to relive the good ol'days. The grey brigade will feel comfortable with the décor, ambiance and menus. But the younger generations would probably feel more relaxed in one of the other hotels in Chester, like the Abode or the Holiday Inn, that offer a more modern and less '80's flamboyant' feel. The location is spot-on, and with a major facelift this hotel could be excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tauk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here in march the hotel was busy but well organised. We had a club room which was very spacious and well equipped. There were 3 choices of where to eat, an a la carte restaurant, a pizza/ sandwich bar and a real ale bar that served good quality pub grub. The staff were all very nice, polite and nothing was too much trouble. I took the chance of having a swim in the very good sized swimming pool the facilities were extremely clean and towels and hair dryers provided. The hotels location is very good, just outside the city walls and a pleasant 10 mins stroll to the Main Street through plenty of shops. All in all a lovely place to stay I highly recommended it.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal facing room, one side of the hotel looks over a busy road even though its not too no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $105 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing