We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We arrived on a wet Friday evening and struggled to find a parking spot, but within minutes there was one free and we quickly got inside. We had a warm welcome from the reception staff and was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. The only thing we struggled with was the width of the opening into the show cubicle which was rather narrow. The Restaurant was really well staffed and pleasant atmosphere the food was delicious and well cooked. The Health club had a beautiful pool, sauna, steam and jacuzzi and the staff were really pleasant. The Pepper restaurant served a very simple menu but very well presented and delicious.
Within an easy walking distance of the City Walls it made exploring the City really easy.
The Canal Restaurant Boat looked interesting and made dining look more inventive.

Room Tip: Ours was a standard double on the 4th floor. Easily accessible by the lift but a small shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne t t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    487
    225
    49
    32
See reviews for
160
674
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Car park is a little cramped but free for guests, on one occasion it was full and I had to wait for someone to come out before I could enter via the barrier. Check-in was good, but no assistance offered to my wife for bags. Our initial room overlooked the road, and on the second floor it's around 20 foot from the window, that said the room was a nice size with good amenities. I asked at Front desk if they could move us, they were very friendly and helpful, we looked at a room one floor up and we were offered an upgrade to The Champagne Room. We took the upgrade which overlooked the canal, really good room, great bathroom, twin sinks, excellent shower and 2 person jet bath, coomfy bed, and a massive TV. Breakfast was good, although busy, as was the bar in the evening. We both had a spa treatment which again was good. Overall the hotel needs a little re-vamp, but the staff are really good and compensate for any shortfall. Central location.

Room Tip: request a canal view. The Champagne Room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob35t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We spent a very lively, fun weekend at the Mill Hotel in Chester. Its not a place to come if you are looking for a relaxing quiet break as the bar and restaurant are busy all day and night and the reception area is full of people coming and going. However the room was very comfortable and as we were on the third floor it was very quiet and we got a good night's sleep. The staff, although constantly busy, were very efficient and the service in the restaurant was excellent although the portions were a little on the stingy side. There is a health centre with a decent sized pool, sauna and steam room on site which was a lovely place to relax.

Room Tip: Third and Fourth floor will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I recently had a weekend in Chester, with a group of friends, celebrating a couple of 60th birthdays! The Mill Hotel, with its excellent Real Ale bar, was an obvious place to stay. The room was ok, nothing special for the money, but comfortable, if small. The Spar facilities were fine, but not really nescessary for our purposes. Breakfast was slightly disappointing. Having to wait for a table is not ideal. Queuing for a standard hot buffet was frustrating and the waitress hovering near the toast machine was positively unhelpful! The overall effect was similar to breakfasting in a {pleasant} works canteen. Lunch in the bar was a better experience - the menu was small, but of a good, simple standard and it passed the "homemade" chips test! However it was the bar that was the biggest disappointment. The renowned choice of quality beers was the main reason for choosing the Mill. On this occaision there was slightly less choice and a distinct lack of variety. This and the fact it was very busy, drove us down the canal to the excellent Old Harkers Arms.
One would hope this was just a temporary blip. All in all The Mill was OK, but could do slightly better.However, judging by how busy it was maybe3 not everyone would agree.

Room Tip: My room was above the outdoor smoking area by the canal. Both nights I was disturbed at 2 am, by ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A group of "girl " friends have just spent 3 nights at The Mill and we were delighted. Friendly, helpful, and a "buzzy" atmosphere. The dinner cruise was most enjoyable and on a very wet and windy afternoon we retreated to the pool and spa. Lovely. The Peppermill Restaurant also really good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Room was spacious, good clean furnishings. Good location, great gym/pool facilities, helpful staff, breakfast not bad. Parking may be difficult if you arrive very late.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishknight55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Was tempted having viewed the hotel's web-site to celebrate my husband birthday by going to their Brasserie Restaurant having never been before where it stated a selection of steaks would be flambed at your table and served with a choice of sauces, peppered, mushroom etc. Also having a real ale bar ticked the boxes for us to having a lovely birthday evening out. Firstly, the bar was more like a sports bar showing live football on a tv screen. Staff seemed miserable and unwelcoming. But it did have real ales stocked with a good selection to choose from. We decided to move into the restaurant as we felt it would be a nicer environment. Having booked we were told to sit wherever. The restaurant was drab and dated with electric fans hanging from the ceiling and a wall mounted TV showing promotional video's of trips the hotel obviously do. Not a nice romantic setting. On seating, we overheard staff complaining about a group wanting a table asap. I understand some customers can be demanding and difficult, but other diners should not overhear staff when they are disgruntled in anyway. We placed our order for two fillet steaks both to be cooked well done. Having waited over 30 mins we asked how much longer we would be waiting, the response was due to the steaks having to be 'well done' it was going to take a while for the chef to cook them. It became apparent then they only flambe the steak at the table which in fairness that is what it says on their web-site. So do not go expecting a display of culinary skills. Our steaks were indeed flambed which unfortunately added no flavour to them whatsoever, probably cheap brandy. The additional dauphinoise potatoes ordered were like sliced boiled potatoes with just cream poured over them and heated. And the 'crescent' of vegetables were undercooked. Finally, when the sauces arrived, they were presented in a tin like gravy boat and tasted like they were made from a packet mix with sliced mushrooms added. I cut into my steak which then bled into the watery gravy like sauce, it was at that point I decided I could not eat the meal or any other. Having complained to the waitress, she apologised and the meal was not charged. My husband who is more tolerant than me continued to eat his meal but was equally dissapointed. This is not a nice feel restaurant, staffed appeared unhappy and our meals were certainly awful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenny&co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing