We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed.”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

room was really comfortable and clean. We stayed in the rooms across the 'bridge' resulting in a lot of road noise,sirens etc.
Breakfast was good, lots of staff on duty.
Sadly, the negative for me was the bad attitude from the staff, especially the staff at the hairdressing salon.So rude, unhelpful and lacking in manners.
The positive, the cleaning lady was a sweetie.
would I stay there again, no,not for me.
when I spend my hard earned cash, I don't want to feel like a nuisance

Room Tip: our room, situated across the bridge, was noisy
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HELEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,444)
There are newer reviews for The Mill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

excellent stay at this hotel very clean , excellent food , 5 min walk from town centre and will be staying again when we go back to chester.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobyto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We shared a very enjoyable night at The Mill with friends in April. We made use of the gym, sauna, pool etc. and cruised the shropshire union canal onboard the caneletto floating restaurant for a four coarse dinner. Hotel clean, staff polite and courteous. Evening meal and buffet style breakfast both ample, well presented and plentiful.. Good position for access to all tourist attractions with added bonus of free parking. Would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w1lls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

So pleased we chose The Mill Hotel for our mini break. We had a great time. The room was spotless, the service was excellent, the staff so helpful, polite and friendly, they went out of thier way to make our stay enjoyable.Thankyou! The food was also excellent, fast efficient service. We will definately be back again. I can highly recommend this hotel, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were a party of 3 couple and a single. Stayed for 3 nights booked direct and paid £240.00 for 3 nights B & B with one four course evening meal included in this price. The staff were so very friendly we all had lovely rooms the best are the Premium which we paid and extra £10.00 for the 3 nights and had a very large room balcony, towelling robes, jacuzzi bath and huge flat screen TV. The food was faultless very clean rooms and the swimming pool and spa for very nice with a pool a lot larger than some hotels. Very central free parking at the hotel unlike some where they charge £15.00 per day. Right in the centre of the town the rooms on the 5th floor are the quietest as there is a road runs along side the hotel which could be noisy in the summer when you have the window open. We will definately be returning very soon. Can't fault.

Room Tip: High floor and for the extra £10.oo for 3 nights it is definately worth it. What can you get for £1...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loobys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stradling the canal this hotel has many facilities, including a good sized pool. We dined here one evening in the Canaletto Restaurant, and the food and service was excellent. Our three night 'deal' was good value as it included the above meal on one evening.
Parking was free and on site. A spa and hair salon is on site, along with a gym and cafe complex. Weekends here are busy and sometimes lively thanks to hen night etc. A 5 minute walk to the main shopping centre easy.
Would stay here again and recommend to others unless they want a very quiet weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Second stay here came about 2 years ago for 1 night but stayed for 3 nights this time over easter with wife for relaxing "get away from it all break" and that's exactly what it was. Got a good deal on premium room and Dinner on first night and B&B.
Dinner on first evening very nice duck gorgeous and "two soups" were lovely. Room was very nice depsite journey to get there in old lift that stopped at your floor if you were lucky!
The only thing in room a bit weird i thought was tv was on wall but opposite sofa not bed so if you laid in bed to watch tv you got a bit of a crick neck !! TV did slide but not far enough !
Hotel ideal spot for town and parking provided so no extra costs for city parking. Our trip coincided with Food and Drink festival at Race course so we wandered down on the Saturday (about 10 minutes walk) and this was great lots of sample food to try and lovely smells from the food outlets couldn't decide what to eat for lunch and lots for the kids to do so may bring them next time. Boat trip on Sunday up the Dee not really very long though 15 minutes each way not really worth it for what you saw.
Hotel breakfast very good we missed the rush each morning by getting down a bit earlier on the sunday not really any good if you want a lie in !!!! Really need to do something about buffet area as it is just too small and poorly located in the resteraunt. Used spa facilities a couple of times on one occasion Jucuzzi broke not ideal when you want to relax and one of the reasons we chose this hotel was for the facilities like this but anyway apart from that a good hotel, pleasant staff and nice break Chester is lovely plenty to see and plenty of places to eat and drink

Room Tip: Premium rooms are nice and large and have a balcony. No noise issues from Bar below (5 floors below)
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markw186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $107 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing