We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
merseyside
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

stayed here 16th December 11 for one night. We only live half an hour from Chester but thought we would tie some shopping in with a meal and a night over. Well worth it, the hotel is 5 minute walk to Foregate street with the main shops. We booked the king room which was over the canal via a covered walkway. the room was a good size with a settee so we were able to relax comfortably. Check in was great, staff very helpful and we were able to get our room a good 2 hours before the check in time. The room, particularly the bathroom was in need of a bit of decorating but it wasn't dire by any means. The room was very noisy from passing traffic as it was on the top floor, we could still hear traffic through the night and we both wear ear plugs to sleep!. We asked for more milk at reception and were given plenty, breakfast the next morning was superb. In all the hotel was great, staff exceptionally helpful and pleasant, the only thing I would recommend is ask for a room over the bridge as the main hotel was noisy but it was after all the weekend before xmas so I wouldn't know if this was the norm. Parking is free and we were able to keep our car in the car park until 1pm on the day we checked out.

Room Tip: ask for a room over the bridge or if in the main hotel ask for a high floor. also ask for a quiet r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    487
    225
    49
    32
See reviews for
160
674
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed overnight 10th Dec for the dinner and dance party night.
I tend agree with other reviews, the hotel is now a bit dated in its decoration
BUT.....its has lots of very good things going for it.

1 - Bang in the centre of Chester, alongside the canal (1 min to shops ladies!)
2 - Spa, gym, swimming pool, all free of charge
3 - Good food
4 - Very good bar selling a large selection of real ales (chaps!)
Staff were also very happy to help at all times

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My Husband & I have just returned from a 2 night break in Chester for a relaxing weekend away. We chose the Mill Hotel cause it was in an idela location, within easy walking distance to the centre of town.

We arrived on the Friday morning, well before the Check in time was ready (2pm for the rooms), but they still let you check in & you can leave your luggage in reception, and they give you get a ticket in the Car Park from the machine, which then they validate on departure and gives you free parking for the whole of your stay :-).

Once we got to the room, we were more than impressed, we booked a Premier Double room, which had a balcony & Jacuzzi Spa with the hugh shower head.
So many reviews on here mention how hot the rooms were, our room was on the warm side when we got in there, but we just turned the Radiator down, not really rocket science is it!!!

We chose to not eat in the hotel, as we were going out in the town both days, but we did eat in the restaurant for our Breakfast, this was very nice, with a nice choice to set you up for the day.

All staff that we came accross were more than helpful & very friendly & welcoming, nothing seemed too much trouble for them.

All in all, i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. We will definatly be returning here again next year

Thank you The Mill Hotel, it was a fab stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed here 1st weekend in Dec for shopping and spa treat. 1st night we were in a room in the main part of hotel, this was a very poor room, very small and claustrophobic, these rooms should be sold as a small double at a cheaper rate! We were moved the next night to a room over the bridge and it was very nice as previous stays. Didnt eat in the hotel this time, spa facilities very nice and not too busy after breakfast. Xmas market only 4-5 stalls. overall good stay again, South African lady on reception was most helpfull and friendly, thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jushei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I have stayed at the Mill many times without complaint. The rooms are clean and basic with tea/coffee/biscuits however they are in need of a makeover. There were work men knocking around while I was there so hopefully things are happening.

The food in the restaurant is nothing special and over priced in my opinion so I suggest you eat out in one of the many pubs/restaurants on offer in Chester.

The bar is a sports bar with big screen TV which I don't think is appropriate for a hotel therefore I have spent little time in it. The foyer has a nice seating area and a brand new lift was being fitted while I was there.

The spa is OK but again a little tired.

The prices are OK and I only use the hotel as a place to sleep so it suits my needs.

Breakfast is good, staff are good and hotel is central.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaLittleborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Hotel was in a great location with good parking and pool facilities, but a few things let it down. The room was in serious need of a refurb, and was boiling hot. The breakfast was really awful!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emredskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I recently visited this hotel again whilst in Chester I was visiting friends and thought I would pay a visit, to perhaps see if anything had changed since our last stay which turned out to be a nightmare after the manager fined my elderly mother £150 for allegedly having a cigarette in her room (which she did not) I soon realised that nothing had changed here and the hotel is in desperate need of a refurb, it is looking more tired and neglected, many of the staff here are mainly eastern european and I was told by one of them that they are all on the minimum wage & some cannot speak english, I did try to locate and speak to the manager but true to form she is never available or in the building, if you are contemplating visiting Chester do yourself a favour and give this hotel a miss since it will ruin your stay. The worst hotel I have ever visited. Many of the rooms are next to the road and noisy too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Keith2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing