We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Tapas”
Review of Blue Bell 1494

Blue Bell 1494
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Bell 1494 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy the ambience of dining in the oldest surviving domestic structure in Chester,where the first licence to serve ale was granted in 1494 !A genuine medieval inn
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tasty Tapas”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Found this lovely tapas bar on tripadvisor and it was well worth the vist. The staff were very friendly and the food was really good,if your in Chester and fancy some good food you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1964julie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    165
    55
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great little Gem”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Went to Chester with a gang of friends last night to see Razor light in concert at chester race course ,we arrived early ,had a walk around Chester and came upon this great little tapas bar
we sat outside had some great tapas ,loved the spicy prawns,had a few drinks really set us up for the night ahead,they even played a few razorlight songs,thanks guys

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Best Meal in Chester”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Found this great little tapas bar ,we all had tapas sitting on patio,service was fantastic we all really enjoyed ,the food and to round it off they had cask beer .will defo be back ,when in Chester next

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Evening after the races - mixed feelings.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I visited Chester for the racing on Saturday and knowing how busy it gets, we booked this restaurant through One Table. We arrived early and were very pleased when this was not a problem. We were seated upstairs and given menus to peruse. We both love tapas and I was a bit surprised when there were no tapas dish menus however the starter portions and sharing platter appealed to us both. Unfortunately the waiter needed to move us as he thought that the large table behind us would intrude on our meal and so we were relocated down stairs. This was not a problem however it was a small room and the atmosphere was not good nor was the internet photographer who kept bursting in to talk to someone she knew - although this is not the restaurants fault, it was very annoying.

The food arrived in good time and was very tasty. We had the sharing board, the king prawns pil-pil and the spare ribs with a side salad and skinny fries. Aside from the prawns of which there were 4 king prawns and 3 ting overcooked salad prawns (pricey for £7), we really enjoyed our meal.

Not sure I would recommend this restaurant, especially when the table behind us received a proper tapas menu however if you do try it; I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kfwkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Food great-just a bit of development needed”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

First to say that the starters and mains are extremely good, full flavours and inventive with it. Top marks there, hence the 4-star.

One or two thoughts for development...
1...Apart from the ice-cream option the dessert menu did not match the mains in any way. The dessert menu is standard pub-grub. Apple pie on a Spanish menu? I know the restaurant has to cater for an English clientele and we largely love our puds but on the other hand the Spanish have no great interest in them, so its a dilemma. Burt what about eliminating some of the English options and including the ubiquitous Spanish flan for authenticity. And something with fresh fruit?

2. Most of the wines are not Spanish. I understand there may be a wholesale problem in getting hold of reasonably priced stuff other than Rioja, but there is a lot more to Spanish wine than this, so why not try to educate the clientele a little?

3. I know that calling your customers 'guys' is hip, but for us 'Sir' and 'Madam' will do.

4. If this is to be a class player in the city then do something to smarten up the gents loo.

Hope you take this in a constructive spirit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livescount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
244Chris, Owner at Blue Bell 1494, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I just wanted to thank you for your fair and constructive comments.We are a small independent restaurant and customer feedback is so important to help us develop to meet our customer's expectations.We are introducing some new desserts to include fresh fruit and Arroz con Leche.
You are also quite right about the wines,we intend to add a more varied selection of Spanish wines.
I have taken on board all your comments.
Many thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bell 1494 also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Blue Bell 1494? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing