We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of Spanish sunshine.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Bell 1494

Blue Bell 1494
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Bell 1494 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy the ambience of dining in the oldest surviving domestic structure in Chester,where the first licence to serve ale was granted in 1494 !A genuine medieval inn
Chester
Level Contributor
177 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A slice of Spanish sunshine.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Finally tried this excellent tapas/Spanish restaurant for Sunday lunch.
A friendly welcome into a clean and well arranged restaurant (given the building is over 500 years old, a feat in itself)
A good selection of tapas and reasonably priced too.
A few special offers on that day, including the half price paella which we had, delicious.
A cheap and cheerful bottle of Spanish red, which at £14.95 was excellent value too.
Great service, lovely staff, what's not to like?!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChalmersChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    162
    50
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Lovely friendly restaurant, great food, very busy ,there was a small delay in receiving our food, but it was worth the wait. I would certainly recommend this friendly family run business, the venue is compact and intimate and is probably ideal for couples, One final comment would be everyone has an opinion and they have the right to express it, but to the couple who were sat in close proximity to us, if you are unhappy, leave, don't moan on and on, think about the people who might be enjoying the food and surroundings , I think they may have left a review !!!!, all I can say would be try this restaurant for yourself, it is a worthwhile experience .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, Owner at Blue Bell 1494, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Roland
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We were working under extreme pressure due to staff shortages on this particular Saturday night.
Your comments are much appreciated and very uplifting !!!!
We are working hard to ensure our customers do not experience such delays in the future and hope to see you again on your next visit to Chester .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food but terrible service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Came here based on the reviews on tripadvisor and if I'm honest was a little disappointed as I expected much more. Apparently some staff were sick that night however we waited an hour and a half to eat which, for tapas which you expect to come out in quickly in bits (which it didn't, it came all at once). The food was good but not worth waiting that long for. Also some of the staff members were bickering between themselves the whole evening - very unprofessional. Perhaps we came on a bad night, but it's not somewhere I would choose to go again - i'd chose Porta across the road instead!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, Owner at Blue Bell 1494, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Laura
Firstly I wish to apologise to our customers who experienced poor service last Saturday night.
I actually expect to receive more negative reviews as a consequence!
As you rightly mentioned in your review we were short on staff,this was unforeseeable and on our busiest booked Saturday night since we opened !
As the evening grew busier we were working under extreme pressure which resulted in poor service to our customers.As a new business growing faster than we expected we have decided to take less reservations and grow more slowly in order to offer the best service to our customers and build a stronger team as we develop.
Hope you might re-consider and visit us again in the future.Thank for your review we take on board all constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking for an exuse to go back. :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went last night, had the pealla, all the fish cooked to perfection, really reasonable. staff are excellant, great atmosphere nice and laid back il be again before week is out, absoloutly lovley place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avrilntribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Terrible service, table booked for 8.30pm....we ate at 10.15pm. Restaurant looked messy, as soon as you walked in you were faced with a bar of dirty glasses, the wine was warm, staff were tripping over each other. The food was just 'ok', and after complaining during the evening....we were then given the wrong bill at the end! Would not return and would not recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bell 1494 also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Blue Bell 1494? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing