We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant staff, but service and food inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Yo! Sushi

Yo! Sushi
Ranked #296 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Japanese, Fast Food, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, but service and food inconsistent”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We ate here one lunchtime about a week ago and it was great, the girl who was our main server was so friendly and helpful. We grabbed a couple of things off the conveyor belt and ordered some others. We had 2 Aubergine salads as they were so nice and I raved about the Salmon tartare, it was really some of the nicest food, especially the dishes we ordered, that we've had at a Yo Sushi.
We had quite a few dishes and thought we'd return.
So one evening last week we did, the place was pretty empty which was ok and the lad that served us was again friendly, but after that it went a bit downhill. The conveyor belt was nearly empty and so we ordered quite a few fresh dishes, we'd pretty much finished eating when my salmon tartare turned up, it was ok but not a patch on the one I'd had a few afternoons before. By this time the restaurant was starting to fill up so there is certainly a demand for Sushi here!
I really want this place to succeed, but compared to the other Yo Sushi restaurants I've been to, where the service is so quick and the staff are so enthusiastic, this just feels like everyone's given up. I will certainly go again as I regularly go to Chester and always crave Sushi or something healthy as opposed to the Sandwiches and Cake cafés of which there seem to be hundreds. I used to love going to the Juice bars in Chester, but we lost those sadly. I dont want to lose a Yo Sushi too!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    41
    22
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
denbighsire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“filthy toilets!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Our family are avid sushi eaters and regularly visit Yo Sushi in Manchester and have always been impressed by the quality of the food and the speed of service. My family and I have visited Yo Sushi in Chester on a few occasions since it opened a few months ago. The service has been slow and the staff disinterested. Very often there is a distinct lack of any food on the belt. I have, up until today, been forgiving because I thought that staff needed time to bed in. However, today in addition to the slow service the toilets were so disgusting that I would not allow my 6 year old daughter to use them! Im afraid I will be saving my sushi carvings for Manchester!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunningly Bad”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I really don't know where to start this review. I frequently use (and enjoy) different Yo Sushi restaurants across the country. To say that the new Chester branch was bad is an understatement. There were so many flaws in the experience that it is probably best just to summarise the main points.
a) Out of 7 dishes ordered, only 5 had actually materialised after 40 minutes.
b) Of the remaining 5 dishes, two hot dishes were actually served cold.
c) We were constantly ignored when trying to attract the servers' attention - astonishing when it later transpired that one of the servers was actually apparently the branch manager.
d) The service itself, when it actually occurred, was at the very best lacklustre - although surly might be a more accurate description. We were forced to resort to using the bell to attract any waiter's attention, although they managed to ignore the bell 4 times,
e) We are not precious about restaurants and dining - many other diners were exhibiting frustration with the chaotic service.
f) I frequently take clients to Yo Sushi for a working lunch. Nothing would tempt me to do this at the Chester branch.

I would not recommend this restaurant to anybody hoping for a positive dining experience. Astonishingly inept and a thoroughly negative advert for the brand.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Super Sushi Sunday”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Yo sushi is always a good bet. the food is unfussy and untampered with, fresh and pleasant, while allowing for healthy options without being weird about it. An excellent chain doing excellent food.
We did a Sunday party and in Chester they have 10 dishes for £20, if the whole party does this. What a deal! A bit of a tussle to get that much food down (tip: pick some small ones!) but everybody enjoyed it and made it top value, even better then monday nights.
The place was quiet early on, the service was very good (maybe for that reason?) and overall it was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJWallasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to eat here, Great work from a small team!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I am a very keen fan of Sushi and I always try wherever possible to visit a Yo Sushi for lunch. Since they have made all the seating into booths it has been really enjoyable to eat there. The food is delicious and there is always something to satisfy appetites (I would suggest the Chicken Katsu Curry!). The team in the Chester branch are small, and they may sometimes have the occasional problem, but the customer service is always exceptional each time I visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andybell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo! Sushi also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Yo! Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing