We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitchell's of Chester Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
Ranked #15 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top quality in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have used Mitchell's each time we have been to Chester over the last ten years - it is right up at the top of the places where we like to stay. It starts well with the welcome we receive from Helen and Colin Mitchell, and our latest visit was no exception.

The place oozes elegance and style - from the entrance hall to the guest lounge; from the bedrooms to the breakfast room. Beds and chairs are very comfortable, decoration is attractive and fresh, fittings are always fit for purpose and well-chosen (our room had lots of hooks and storage space and a shower with elbow room, not something you always find). If you can think of something you would like to find, it will almost certainly be there, and it will work.

Breakfast-time is something worth getting up for, whether you want the full English breakfast or something less filling, what you get will be enjoyable - the sausages and bacon are top quality, the cereals are fresh and crispy, and the coffee a drink worth having. (We made tea in our room while showering and dressing before going down for breakfast!)

We went to Chesster with friends (three of whom also stayed at Mitchell's) to enjoy Chester's Mystery Play production and unfortunately, because of car problems, had to curtail our visit to a long weekend rather than the week we had planned but we will be back for a longer stay in the near future.

Thank you again,

Olive & Ted

Room Tip: Access to the top floor rooms requires a greater level of mobility, but it's worth the effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It's always a pleasure to meet old friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
108
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently spent a few very enjoyable days at Mitchell's of Chester. This guest house is the most elegant we have stayed in & spotlessly clean. Helen & Colin are very gracious hosts who made us feel most welcome. Breakfast was fantastic - plenty of food, very appetising & served on beautiful top-quality china. The way Colin waited on us made us feel like VIP's! The location is excellent, in a quiet residential street, just a short stroll into town. Mitchell's was a great base for exploring Chester & doing a drive through beautiful northern Wales as well. It was excellent value for money, far better than a hotel. We highly recommend Mitchell's of Chester & wouldn't hesitate to go back. Thank you Colin & Helen!

Room Tip: Just be aware that there are stairs, so you might want to ask for a room on a lower floor. Guest hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne & Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you appreciate our efforts in making Guests welcome and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
246 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I booked the Mitchells from the Chester,U.K. tourism website before leaving home. The reviews from the past guests have given this place many favorable comments. I booked for two nights during my recent trip to Ireland/N. Ireland/U.K.. It is a superb guest house in many ways. The owners Helen and Colin welcomed me at the day of arrival with coffee and biscuits in their beautifully decorated living room of their large Victorian house. After a short break, Colin showed me the city map of Chester and pictures of the town center. They really know how to make the guests feel comfortable while staying with them. I booked for a single use room but they upgraded a bedroom for two persons, ensuite with spotless toilet, wash bowl, a larger shower and two sets of very thick and soft towels like the kinds they use in 5 stars hotels/resorts. They provide the best complimentary products and have many varieties of beverage/biscuits/cookies for you. Besides choices of cold cereals, fruits, cheeses/crackers and juices, hot breakfast is made fresh for you using the high quality local products and served on their fine English china; glassware; linen table clothes. Helen cooked and Colin served. He wore shirt and tie and served each guest with professional courteous manners. At the day I departed I asked Helen about her home. She said they have owned and operated as a guest house for 30 years at this 1856 built Victorian house. They have renovated,refurbished and updated as years gone by and will soon do another update for the room I stayed. I was amazed since that room is perfect for me as I saw it. I told Helen I wished I could stay longer,and she said "but you must move on" and gave me a stuffed toy of a plush rabbit as a departing gift. What a nice gesture to say goodbye! The Mitchells have many BEST's that I should point out: Located in a quiet upper middle class residential neighborhood that each house has its low wall and garden; buses from and to the town center stop across from/next to the house; Helen uses only the local best quality products for the breakfast she prepares(I love the rich flavor golden color butter);a large single home; super clean and roomy place; a large homey living room and a nature lighted breakfast room; their attention to details and above all their excellent hospitality. For all of these they only charged me 46 pounds per night stay. It's the best deal I have ever had. I told Helen that I shall return in the future when I make my way there again. Thank You Helen and Colin Mitchell for your kindest and warmest welcome to your home!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unescotravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you. Your enthusiasm for Chester was contagious
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I think this is a beautiful family guest house, with a friendly atmosphere. We received a warm welcome from the hosts, (Helen & Colin) who served us with tea and biscuits on arrival. We loved visiting Chester, had a great night’s sleep, and enjoyed a delicious breakfast. We found the rooms very clean and tidy, and the house is in a nice location. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed there for three nights on an anniversary trip. They were such wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant stay. They even drove us to the train station when we were running late for a tour bus. The room was so comfortable and the garden was absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsG2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
It would have been a shame for you to have missed your tour of North Wales. It's such a beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

A lovely b&b. Helen and Colin are wonderful hosts. Rooms are always spotlessly clean and we enjoy the breakfast and service. The rooms are spacious and according to the owners they are undertaking refurbishments. which I feel is not really needed as each room we have stayed in has been lovely and quite traditional old fashioned which might not be to everyones taste.Would highly recommend Mitchells of Chester. Helen and Colin, see you both again next May for the races! The noisy northern crew.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenOssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Nice to hear from you. You weren't really noisy. Not when it mattered, anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location close to the centre of Chester. Room was a good size, but fittings felt a bit tired. Breakfast was nice enough, but hospitality was not gushing. A pleasant stay, but not exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveltooBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We're sorry that you thought things had changed this time, but we have carried out a lot of refurbishment since your stay last December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's of Chester Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's of Chester Guest House

Property: Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
Address: 28 Hough Green, Chester CH4 8JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitchell's of Chester Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and beautifully maintained Victorian residence,awarded a 5 star Gold Award rating from the AA and 5 star Gold award from Visit England, together with breakfast awards from both organizations. The house is situated an easy 15 minute walk into the City centre of Chester. We offer free parking and,a bus route into the city is situated outside the hotel. Bedrooms furnished in period style with fully equipped en-suite, central heating, TV with DVD and digital channels, hospitality tray, radio/alarm, hair drier,free wireless internet and many other comforts. From the Hallway one enters the period dining room where breakfast is served from an extensive menu, all cooked to your personnel preference using fresh local produce. The restful Lounge over-looks a quiet garden, and features a residents honesty bar with Beers, wines and spirits. A wide selection of books, and large TV are also available for guests use. Extensive local information on things to do and places to see is also available for you to read and take away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mitchell's of Chester Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing