We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great find”
Review of Linenhall - CLOSED

Linenhall
Cuisines: British, Bar, European, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great find”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I came on this small gem by chance in passing and had a superb meal, starting with large perfectly cooked scallops, and continuing throughout the whole meal. A careful selectiom of wines was complemented by attentive, efficient and friendly service in a warm and atmospheric basement.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    19
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worthy new venue”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

6 of us had a brilliant time last Saturday evening with fantastic service from convivial and knowledgeable staff. By the end of the evening some adventurous young(ish) ladies were even dancing to the soulful crooner. Not sure if this is standard entertainment but it only added to the lovely atmosphere
There is great choice on a menu and wine list which stand very favourable comparison with its city competition
Deserves to be a success for its new local owners who obviously take pride in high levels of service and good quality, yet value for money, dining.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Best Sunday lunch we have had in a long time.presented very nice with fried coated parsnips the stand out veg.staff really nice and upon mentioning how we enjoyed the meal pat the chef came to our table for a chat,so nice to talk to a chef who is so passionate about his food.we shared an indulgent pudding washed down with a real ale beer.all in all a fab meal with fab prices would really recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dskh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bargain Roast Dinner!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Have recently moved to the area and this place is right around the corner from me. Popped in on Sunday for a roast dinner and what a bargain for £5.95! It wasn't too busy and service was very quick. Staff were excellent and attentive and food was lovely. Portions were just the right size and all meat (beef, lamb and chicken) were cooked well. There is also a fish option and a veggie option. I have not yet sampled the weekday menu but looking forward to going back. Would recommend to a friend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RosieB987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chesters Gem”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Food is quality, local, fresh, and cooked to perfection, staff knowledgeable friendly, with first class customer service, I would recommend this place to everyone .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linenhall also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing