We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty roast dinner”
Review of Linenhall - CLOSED

Linenhall
Cuisines: British, Bar, European, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty roast dinner”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

One of the best roast dinners I've had and all at a bargain price of £5.95! We both had the roast chicken which came with both breast and thigh meat and a pie slice of stuffing which was a nice touch. The vegetables were cooked perfectly and it was well presented. Would definitely recommend and will be going back soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    19
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

12 friends and I went to Linen Hall for dinner to celebrate my birthday. We were all of the same opinion, we had a wonderful evening the food was cooked perfectly and the presentation was really good. Ben looked after us with excellent service and mixed fabulous cocktails. I have been back since with my family the food and the service excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Geri1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast at Linenhall Bar - Watergate, Chester.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Arrived around 12:30 to a very quiet bar with a very personable and accommodating barman.

We were confidently recommended the Roast Sirloin of beef @ £5:95 and sat in a quiet corner and read a paper for 10 mins whilst we sipped our wine and beer.

Our lunch arrived on a very full plate accompanied by good vegetables and well cooked moist tasty beef.
A Sunday roast minutes up the road is circa £12:95 so our experience and remarks reflects what good value this quiet bar is.
We even got extra gravy on request which made the Sirloin even better.

Good beer, good wine and excellent beef but the place needs to be busier on a Sunday.

Roasters need to Roast!

Well done to this quiet bar and its front of house and support staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TENZNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food ok, quite pricey for what it is”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Same set up as fat cat - bar tender showed us to a table and brought the menus over and discussed the specials which were quite expensive.

Asked why we would like to drink we looked for the drinks menu but was informed they didn't have one as we're working from the fat cat drinks menu.

Food was nice had better at other restaurants and got more for my money.

Went to lay the bill and we had been overcharged so make sure you check the bill!

Would I go again? Prob not there's a lot new nicer pubs in town than here

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“New name, good food”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having come into Chester for something to eat thought we would try the Linen Hall since it stopped being the Fat Cat. The outside look is really good and when you go in it's a good atmosphere. The staff were really pleasant, but not too hot on seating you or taking orders. We just found our own table and then went to the bar for menus and once we had chosen to order. Now many pubs have that kind of service, which is fine, but they do make it clear that's what you need to do. In actual fact I think that they are geared to take the orders at the table but.... Anyway, ordered food and drink (the bar has some nice beers if that's your preference by the way) at the bar. The cutlery was brought to the table and shortly after came the food, nicely presented. I had the fish and chips I thought it was a large portion, it looked well cooked and fresh it tasted delicious and was accompanied with three 'dips' two I really enjoyed but the third (seemed to be olives chopped up in mayo of some kind?) was horrible but that was the only low point regarding the food which was worth the trip. Somehow even the chaotic(?) service didn't bother me too much, although it might have done in other circumstances, and the two staff I encountered where really nice and seemed to be sincere in there desire that you enjoy yourself, the food and drink. Just sharpen up the act on the service and this will be a great venue. The bill came smartly when asked for (luckily I checked it as I was overcharged on the drinks) but once again was so slow that I got up and paid at the bar in the end. Oh and the water I ordered never came, but nor was I charged for it so?....

I'd go back to see if they had got everything together but wouldn't bother if there was no improvement. I think this could be a great venue, it's close to the racecourse so great for drinks and food pre/post racing or just to enjoy good food and drink, because they do serve good food and drink.

Try it but just be prepared to go with the flow!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tauri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linenhall also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing