We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Church Bar & Restaurant

The Church Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 547 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Bar and waiting on staff need a crash course in customer satisfaction, take a leaf out of bar lounges training manual as at present this place is light years away from that standard. Lovely place but so disappointed with the overall service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    181
    113
    57
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have visited The Church on at least 6 occasions, had food. Great place,atmosphere fab. Until one glorious Saturday night we decided to pop in for a few drinks, it was busy and as we went to walk in the bouncers on the door asked a few people to step to one side, we proceeded to walk in and they stopped my husband as he had on white slip on shoes, not trainers, they declined us, he has worn these on every occasion, there were people in shorts etc, I feel they wanted the younger crowd in there. I'm 50 this month and feel I am quite trendy. I had told my 40 friends that we will go there as it is such a fab place and have food. However we will not be doing that now.Very disappointing. I think these "BOUNCERS" need retraining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wirral10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Over zealous doormen”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

What is it with doormen and footwear, after being refused entry to the church for wearing casual footwear we just shook our heads and continued our night out in bar lounge and the commercial without any problem so that's 4 regular customers that they've lost.It seems strange that a premises can afford to alienate customers but we will see in 6 months when the new novelty has worn off in the meantime if you go out in anything but shoes don't bother

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing first visit to The Church”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been looking forward to going to The Church for a while and maybe the problem was my expectations were too High. The building itself is lovely and they have done a nice job converting it.
When we were seating to our table, it was a bit dirty with scruffy menus and creased napkins - not a good first impression. I had the fish and it was very disappointing, the batter was soggy and came with about 5 mushy peas! My friends side order of chips ended up on another table and she thought she was getting a salad and received about 5 rocket leaves! The service was good and the waitresses friendly but overall I wasn't impressed and won't be rushing back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNewMrsAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dinner with colleagues”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

A party of 7 of us dined at this restaurant on Weds night. Ambience was really good - an amazing conversion project. I was very very surprised by appalling waitress service. She failed to welcome us, hardly talked to us at all, I had to call after her to order. No offer of drinks (she could have sold us wine etc). I have never entered anything on Tripadvisor before but so shocked by this poor service that I had to share. Very sad because we have always had a warm welcome in Chester restaurants

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Church Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Church Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing