We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BASE Serviced Apartments Chester
Ranked #16 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
wirral
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would go back ”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

6 of us stayed here on 12/12 in a two bedroomed apartment. The rooms are quite compact but are very clean and tidy and the decor is very modern! The lady who meets you to give you the keys is lovely! I will definitely return the next time I am in Chester and all of the others said the same!

Don't listen to the negative comments!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank blondiexx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    15
    5
    19
See reviews for
27
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for a romantic weekend 22/11/13. The sound from the bar underneath is terrible-and is at full blast till 1.18am. So loud, the bed was vibrating. Ear plugs made no difference. Tried to book somewhere else for the second night but everywhere was full. However most disappointing is that the management are in dispute with the council and the bar below and are still renting the rooms out. They are aware when you book that you are going to have problems and still hand you the keys with a smile. Don't bother complaining after the event as the firm has worse customer services I think I have ever experienced. Two weeks later as I write this I'm still waiting for the courtesy of a return call from someone in the company who is prepared to offer a reasonable amount of compensation. They are full of apologies but won't put you in touch with a 'boss'. They are refunding 50% of our fee as and get this ' that's what we have been settling with complainants re the noise issue' So in short good location, nice flat and if you like going to bed after 2am then great. Other wise don't touch it please. RUBBISH !!

Room Tip: Definitely not flat one that seems to be the worse but all occupants were complaining
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for Friday & Saturday night for a girls shopping weekend. The apartments were really well done, clean, modern and comfortable in a great location - 5 minute walk from the train station and 10 minute walk to the city centre - in this respect I can't recommend them enough - brilliant. BUT, whilst the advert states they are above a pub, it does not say that they can be noisy. We stayed in Apartment 1 directly above the pub; on the Friday night the live music went on well after 2am and we could hear every word clearly, needless to say we didn't get a particularly good nights sleep. The Saturday night was better - thankfully no live music (although the pub sign outside does say Live Music Friday & Saturday nights) but you can still hear the noise and music clearly. It's a shame that when the apartments were done they didn't think to soundproof which would have made them excellent, and the noise is the only reason I'm giving them 3 stars rather than 5. Check in times are also very restrictive - after 5pm £20 extra charge!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor on a weekend if you want a good nights sleep - opt for a second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boardman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I could not recommend these apartments at all. The bar underneath the apartment played really loud live and canned music until after 2am in the morning. We did not get a reasonable nights' sleep at all.
We approached the management in the bar who seemed sympathetic but the noise did not diminish.
Additionally, the internal doors were so heavy to open that I doubt if anyone slightly weak could do so. I'm sure that fire resistant doors are compulsory but the automatic closers were far too strong.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are further from the noise, but take my advice, unless you want to join in the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

we booked a one bedroom apartment for my wife and I along with our baby girl. The apartment was just what we needed and was in a great central location. The apartment had everything you could need and more. we would definitely return and recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Chester.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickandcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lovely apartment, very clean, very helpful staff, great central location, but small so suitable for 2 people. We visited during the heat wave of July 2013 and it rather stifling on the 3rd, just unfortunate timing. Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avidtravellers1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked a compact double for a couple of nights and found the room very clean, comfortable, well equipped (e.g. proper wine glasses) but very compact. We would have struggled if we had brought more luggage.

The location is excellent and there is on street parking available (although only for an hour between 8am and 6pm).

We can also recommend the bar below (The Cellars), very friendly locals and landlord with an exceptional range of beers.

Room Tip: Would recommend booking an apartment rather than a compact double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peregrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BASE Serviced Apartments Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Serviced Apartments Chester

Property: BASE Serviced Apartments Chester
Address: 19-21 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BASE Serviced Apartments Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Serviced Apartments is proud to announce the opening of our brand new location in the heart of the historical city of Chester. Our centrally located contemporary apartments offer a choice of 7 stylish one, two bedroom apartments and separate, double en-suite rooms. All of these apartments are fully furnished to a high standard with LCD televisions, comfortable double bedrooms, spacious living / dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Welcome packs containing a variety of teas, coffees, sugar, biscuits and milk containers are provided to all guests, together with washing powder, dishwasher tablets and bathroom toiletries. Based close to the canal side and only minutes from Chester Railway Station, Northgate Street Shopping Center and Chester Cathedral, the apartments are also just under 5 minute drive from Chester Racecourse. This fantastic location boasts a wide choice of restaurants on City Road and in the city center, which is just a short walk away. Here at Base Serviced Apartments, you can find a real sense of a home-from-home comfort, which makes them a perfect choice, whether you are a travelling couple, family or a corporate guest. If you are looking for good self-catered accommodation then look no further… Base Serviced Apartments is the real alternative to hotel living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BASE Serviced Apartments Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing