We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edgar House - what a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edgar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgar House
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Edgar House - what a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have just returned from a two-night stay in Edgar House, and just cannot praise it too highly. Everything was wonderful - the setting, on the ancient walls, overlooking the River Dee and yet minutes from the centre of everything, the decor, the service, the comfort... Mike and Tim are most friendly and attentive and did all they could to make us feel at home and cared for. We loved Chester too, and can't wait to return for more treats!

Room Tip: We didn't see any other bedrooms, but ours - Riverview Deluxe - was delightful. The large bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Maisie27
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review, and thanks so much for choosing to stay with us for your anniversary. I hope we can tempt you back again another time - we will look forward to it.
Very best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    8
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
494
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We always aim to stay in good places when we get away together for some R&R and Edgar house is at the top end of places we have stayed in.

From the warm welcome to the fresh Honeycombe at breakfast everything was absolutely spot on.

The room is spacious, well appointed and exceptionally homely in feel and decor. The views from the window over the weir and the old bridge are fabulous, it's all so relaxing that it would be easy to forget about everything.

We could go on enthusing about the place, the breakfast and even the superb coffee & cake in the afternoon before we left, everything was perfect.

Thanks again to Mike, Tim and our waitress (sorry we didnt get your name) in the afternoon, you made our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPJazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Paul
Many thanks indeed for your wonderful review. We're really thrilled you chose to stay with us to celebrate your birthday and of course that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks too for mentioning our staff who do a great job (it was Lucy who was looking after you that day)
I hope we can look after you again another time soon. When is it Judy's birthday? :)
Very best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Once you have stayed here - you will never want to stay in any other hotel in Chester! It is quite simply superb. A lovingly restored house with views onto the town walls and River Dee. The rooms are delightfully decorated as is the whole house and you are immediately made to feel at home by Mike and Tim. And home it is - but better. A fascinating variety of art work on the walls and even a mini cinema complement the ambiance. A leisurely breakfast will set you up for the whole day. We know where we will be staying whenever we visit Chester again!

Room Tip: They all have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobGfromWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Rob
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review. We're delighted you and Lesley enjoyed your stay with us and we hope the rest of Fiona's graduation celebrations went off smoothly. It would be our pleasure to look after you again the next time you're in Chester.
Best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We found Edgar House by accident and recommend that you make reservations to make sure you don't miss it! First, it is located right on the Roman/Medieval wall that surrounds Chester. It is a real treat to just walk out the door and start walking around this scenic town (round trip is only about an hour at a leisurely pace). Second, the room was so comfortable with so many nice touches that made us feel pampered ... .like the heated floor and mirror in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and luxurious. From our room, we could see the river from our bed. This is the only time in my life that I have been able to enjoy morning coffee while birdwatching in bed! The decor is simply gorgeous with beautiful works of art in our room. Ours had a piece by Bob Dylan (yep, THAT Bob Dylan) that we just fell in love with. The bathroom was large with an excellent shower. We opted for breakfast (which is extra) and were not disappointed .. .the food was great, the view (again, out to the lovely backyard and river) was serene. Finally, our hosts ... .very friendly, very helpful, very welcoming, and very fun. This place is clearly their baby ... they take care of it well and love what they are doing. If you are staying in Chester, we recommend Edgar House!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandC71187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Carol and Gary
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review. I can't believe it's been two months since you were here! Tim and I loved having you stay - it was a pleasure to have met you both and I hope if you're ever back in the UK again, and in this neck of the woods, you'll come back and stay with us. Take good care of each other. Best wishes, Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a place and what hosts! The Edgar House is a dream of a place that has ruined us for anywhere else now. Intimate and elegant, with first class food (including excellent gluten free choices at breakfast) and quite the best location in Chester, it is clearly a labour of love for owners Mike and Tim.
We'll be back just as soon as we can think of an excuse! Thank you so much for your warm welcome.

Room Tip: We sneaked a peek in all of them and they are all top class...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Sarah
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to have looked after you and Martin, and I hope we'll be able to do it again another time soon.
Take good care
Best wishes,
Mike :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawarden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

As part of my wife's birthday treat, I decided to book an overnight stay last Friday at Edgar House. When we arrived, Mike showed us to our spacious room which was just perfect with a view overlooking the city walls and the river Dee weir. Picturesque! The room was extremely plush with all the mod cons that you would expect these days with an en suite bathroom complete with heated flooring should you need it! All were immaculately clean, tidy and spotless. Mike had even arranged a beautiful bouquet of flowers at my request and had ensured the bottle of fizz was already cooling for our arrival. Mike then showed us around the hotel introducing us to the excellent facilities. I had arranged to go out into town for a meal that evening to which Mike and Tim offered to arrange taxi's. After a very comfortable night (my wife said the bed was like sleeping on a cloud!) we went downstairs for breakfast. Tim presented a very comprehensive menu with lots of tempting choices using local suppliers. The breakfast was delicious! I can honestly say that I have never had porridge so good! The full English Edgar breakfast that followed this first course was just as good! Thanks once again to Mike and Tim for their outstanding hospitality and friendliness and for making my wife's birthday treat so special for her. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. I5VJ33L

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HawardenMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Mitch
You are ever so kind to have left such a fabulous review. We're thrilled that everything was just right for Sally's special day and that you both enjoyed so much your stay with us - and the brekkie! :)
Don't leave it too long so that we can spoil you both all over again :)
Very best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night at the luxurious but friendly Edgar House after completing the Snowdonia Marathon, my partner had booked it as a treat, and what a treat it was. We were greeted on arrival and shown around our AMAZING room, complete with a much needed beautiful copper roll top bath in the bedroom. Mike showed us how to use the gigantic TV (complete with LOVEFILM); the huge rain shower; the lovely lighting, need I go on! The breakfast was really delicious using the best local produce and the service was faultless. We had also booked a local Italian restaurant for the evening and were given directions by Mike and Tim who were happy to advise nice places to eat and drink. We were sorry to leave!
H2AV21P

Room Tip: the roll top bath room was a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicnbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Barny and Vickie
You are ever so kind to leave such a lovely review and we're very grateful to you. Many thanks indeed. We're very glad you had a great stay. It was too short, so you must come for longer next time :) But don't wait for the Chester marathon, that's not 'til next October! :)
Very best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgar House

Property: Edgar House
Address: 22 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgar House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgar House is a fine period building overlooking the River Dee, offering peaceful riverside luxury in the heart of Chester. Spacious boutique rooms, dreamy beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, comfy sofas, real fires, bespoke furniture, internet TVs, Wi-fi & hard wired internet as standard. Bathrooms all have underfloor heating & fab showers, some with a freestanding bath & your own balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing