We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem..!”
Review of Edgar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgar House
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in. It definitely belongs in the boutique hotel category and the pride that Mike and Tim have is obvious from the moment you are greeted and shown around your room. The location is superb, overlooking as it does the river, helped by the fact that the terrace is situated right against the city walls where you can enoy a nice coffee and lunch. As for the junior suite room it was furnished with meticulous attention to every detail, including a magnificent copper bath in the bedroom...unusual but we enjoyed the quirkiness of the feature. The bathroom contained a massive rain shower in a wet room section. We would definitely come back to Edgars for future stays in Chester.

Room Tip: Although we didnt get to book it, the Balcony view rooms looked fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebukinezzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Stephen and Sue
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review
It was our pleasure to have had you stay and for us to look after you, and although you're only down the road, I hope we can do it again soon for you.
Very best wishes,
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 733 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband & I decided to get away for the weekend whilst our daughter stayed with her grandparents. We want to stay somewhere that was that extra bit special so we felt relaxed after our stay... Wow we got exactly what we expected and hoped for whe we arrived we were greeted at the door . Hello Yvette that is when you know thye have done their homwork and want to make you stay special. The room was perfect in every way from the balcony to the bathroom. Mike took time out to give us a fully guided tour of beautifully decorated rooms that were available for us to use. He then prceed to get us a table booked at one of the local restaurants and nothing was too much trouble. It was a shame that our trip came to an end too sson as i think i could easily get used to the treatment you get when staying at Edgar House. We will be back again and hopefully not too long but we will wait until we get that break for our parent duties again..

Thanks for making our weekend so relaxing and perfect

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Yvette and Jon
Thank you soooo much for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to have looked after you, and I hope you can come back again soon. Give my regards to the Island! :)
Best wishes,
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Atop the historic city walls of Chester overlooking the River Dee, sits the Edgar House. A bed and breakfast truly beyond compare. Elegant in every way. Beautifully furnished, appointed rooms. Delicious breakfast and lunch fare, created using local ingredients. A gorgeous riverside balcony where Mike has artfully preserved and integrated the indigenous trees, flora and fauna of the region. A setting perfect for eating, reading or simply getting lost in the beauty of the river.

But what really makes Edgar House perfection is the people. Edgar House consists of the most attentive and hospitable staff I've ever encountered in all my travels. Mike and Tim will pamper you in a way that doesn't require much requesting on your part. It's almost an art form the way they anticipate your needs and know what will delight you. What's more...that same attitude carries through each staff member you encounter during your stay.

Finding the Edgar House for my first trip to the UK has me feeling like I hit the jackpot, and apparently the experience was an emotional one...as I yearn to return next summer. Is it possible that staying at the Edgar House was the best part of my visit to Chester? An emphatic yes!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gfoley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Gillian
It can be glibly said that someone arrives as a stranger and leaves as a friend, but in the few days that you stayed with us, that expression came true. Thank you SO much for coming to stay us, we were enriched by your company and I really hope we can stay in touch and that you are able to revisit us any opportunity that you can. Take good care of yourself Gillian and hope to see you again soon. Mike and Tim X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were very lucky to stay two nights at Edgar House this week. It is a gem, a luxurious hotel in a perfect setting within the old walls of Chester. We had wonderful views over the river and there was everything we could wish for in the room to make this a very special visit, including prints by Bob Dylan! Tim and Mike are extremely friendly attentive hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them, including making sure that I had gluten free food available. This was our first stay here but we can't wait to come back to see Edgar House and Tim & Mike again. If you are coming to Chester I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel as THE place to stay

Room Tip: We were shown all the rooms and they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Wendy
It was a delight to have met you and Paul, and it was our pleasure to have looked after you for your stay in Chester.
We too hope if you ever have occasion to come back to the North West, that we can welcome you back again to Chester and to Edgar House.
Very glad you got home to Peterborough safe and sound.
With best wishes,
Mike and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Edgar House was, by far, the best hidden gem hotel I've ever found (and I pride myself on these sorts of things). Mike and Tim, the hosts, are the perfect British gentlemen and run a hotel (B&B, really) that would make Ritz Carlton executives start fretting if they stayed a night. It's that good. Luxurious, quiet, and perfectly located. You could not ask for more from a hotel. Beautiful artwork, an amazing room selection, beautiful balconies, and first class service.

Room Tip: Get a riverview balcony room. You won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear TJ
Many thanks indeed for such a great review - very humbling. So very pleased though that you guys had such a lovely stay, and glad you got home OK. It was our pleasure to look after you, and I hope we might get chance to do it again for you should you ever come back to England.
Take good care
Best wishes,
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Edgar House is a beautifully immaculate and welcoming hotel and I can't recommend it highly enough.
The rooms are wonderfully luxurious and well thought out. The food is fantastic. This was our first stay and we only stayed for one night, but we felt so spoilt and so relaxed that it seemed like we'd been away for much longer. Mike, our host, and indeed all the staff made us feel very welcome and were incredibly helpful and courteous at all times. They were attentive without being intrusive - a balance few manage to attain, and this is testimony to their genuine enthusiasm for providing an exceptional stay for their guests.

The location is perfect - at the riverside with fantastic views, central but in a quiet spot for a peaceful night's rest.

I look forward to visiting Edgar House again (and again and again...) and we'll definitely stay for longer next time.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Karen
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated. Tim and I are thrilled that you and Alistair had such a great time. I hope you can stay for longer next time :)
Very best wishes,
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were so sad to leave! We couldn't fault anything at all. The owners, Tim and Matt couldn't have made us feel more welcome. Our room - the junior suite - was just beautiful. The attention to detail was quite incredible - and I have never before seen such a level of comfort or cleanliness. The shower and whole bathroom were pure luxury along with the mini Molton Brown goodies and the copper bath in the bedroom.... well..... It was just such a special treat for a morning soak! Every little detail has been considered - the mirror in the bathroom is heated so that when you shower in the morning, it doesn't mist up! It was very clear to us how passionate Tim and Matt are about their hotel. I don't think I've ever slept so well - full stop. Breakfast was truly yummy and nothing was too much trouble. We wanted to stay longer and explore the hotel more - including the honesty bar in the phone box - WOW, but sadly we had to dash off! We recommend this hotel in COMPLETE confidence to guests who are used to the finest luxuries in life as we are and now are going to have to find an excuse to visit Chester again soon!

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suite - the sound of the river outside is so relaxing and the copper bath in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Emily
You are so very kind to have written such a fantastic review. Tim and I are very grateful. Very glad too of course that you enjoyed yourselves, and we look forward to welcoming you and Oli again in the near future.
Best wishes and thanks again
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,638 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#15 of 45 in Chester
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgar House

Address: 22 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $271 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgar House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgar House is a fine period building overlooking the River Dee, offering peaceful riverside luxury in the heart of Chester. Spacious boutique rooms, dreamy beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, comfy sofas, real fires, bespoke furniture, internet TVs, Wi-fi & hard wired internet as standard. Bathrooms all have underfloor heating & fab showers, some with a freestanding bath & your own balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edgar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing