We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer good food”
Review of The Cross Keys

The Cross Keys
Ranked #148 of 562 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Weekday pies and gravy Sunday traditional roast
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good beer good food”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The most welcoming pub in Chester with gorgeous surroundings with a wonderful log fire, good beer, food, knowledgeable and helpful staff where nothing is to much trouble.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    36
    5
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable evening”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I had a wedding reception in The Slaughtered Lamb, the Cross Keys' lovely upstairs function room. I wasn't sure what to expect but I couldn't have asked for better service from Jane the owner and the staff working the event (very accommodating). They let us put up all of our decorations in advance and really made us feel like the room was our own (they also put up with our very boisterous dancing!) We ordered the buffet for our guests and were very impressed by the food- particularly the steak and ale pie and lasagna. Both terrific. Lots of compliments from guests. House wine was also nice. Highly recommend their function room service!! Also, beautiful downstairs interior.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The function room was perfect for our son and daughter-in-law's wedding party of 50 family members and friends. The owners and and staff were so helpful and obliging to us and the event was a great success with excellent food, wine and beer. We danced into the evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“christmas fayre”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Booked our office party in the function room at the cross keys - how lovely!
we were able to choose table configuration and we chose to be seated on
one big table - all 20 of us. The room was beautiful and really niceley decorated
We had all ordered our choice well before christmas and some had forgotten what they chose, but the lady had all of our names and choices so there was no hassle.
I had the turkey which was very good but for me probably a little too much. The best bit was the pudding, I dont like christmas pudding so I had the rum and orange bread and butter pudding, loved it so much I asked for the recipe and was given it!
We will certainly be making a return visit. good service and loveley pub

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a pub should be like”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

One of our many visits to Chester on a really cold and wet miserable November day visiting the the Cross Keys really brightened up our early evening.
The pub was quite busy (bearing in mind it was a Friday a roaring log burner which really made the place comfortable).
Great selection of beers from the Joules brewery. Although we didn't have a meal our selves the menu looked quite appealing at reasonable prices. (We will certainly try a meal next time we call in the Cross Keys).
Staff and locals all very friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everton08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cross Keys also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing