We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere......”
Review of Ellie's Bistro - CLOSED

Ellie's Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wirral
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and atmosphere......”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have been to Ellies on a number of occasions and always had a nice time. The food is lovely and have never had any issues with the staff. I will be back :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    3
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very poor quantity of one particular tapas.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was my first tapas experience and more likely to be my last. I went to dine alone as I live in the city and decided on Ellie's Bistro last night - it came highly recommended by the folk of 'I Love Cheshire' website. I ordered 3 tapas - moroccan chicken, king prawn and patatas bravadis. Although, I couldnt fault with the prawn and patatas, I was, however, disappointed with the chicken - not because there wasnt anything wrong with it, but because the poor quantity of it - I must of counted 5 tiny pieces of chicken and this was accompanied with what I can only say a 25ml shot of pilau rice added.

When the waiter approached me to enquire if everything was ok with the meal, I told him straight that I was disappointed with the quantity size of the moroccan chicken (and judging by some of the comments here, it would seem that I am not the only one). The waiter felt unsure what to do, but I can only assume that he passed on my comments to the chef.

I can honestly say that I wont be dining there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl264968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nipped in for a quick lunch before a visit to the cathedral, lovely food, good value and friendly staff...would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rude manager - put the phone down on us.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A few months ago, we visited this place and had a lovely couple of coffees, vowing to come again and eat. When a Groupon offer came up, it seemed like a perfect opportunity. I bought it, but didn't get to use it immediately. There followed a couple of very difficult months and I admit Groupon vouchers were not at the forefront of my mind.
It expired, and a couple of weeks later, my partner kindly called to see if there was anything that could be done. The lady manager was very abrupt and rude, and my partner continued to be polite. The manager just put the phone down without saying goodbye. I didn't necessarily expect them to honour the voucher but it would be good business sense to a) be polite and b) offer a small discount on a visit if it was necessary to decline the voucher. Even if, it seems, Groupon has swallowed all my money.
As it is, whilst we thought it was a lovely find (I had worked in the place when it was a solicitor's office!), we will not be returning. More fool them!
Not the same for the place in Nantwich - similar problem, but polite staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CBH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mold
Level Contributor
532 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“tapas but not skimpy”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

an excellent chice of tapas meals
we chose the seafood paella, great tasting
sticky ribs, well they just were
lamb steak, spicy but tasty
scallops with chorizo, really good
moroccan chicken disapointing
bit overall really flavoursome tapas
excellent service
good location but off the beatne track

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellie's Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing