We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude manager - put the phone down on us.”
Review of Ellie's Bistro - CLOSED

Ellie's Bistro
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rude manager - put the phone down on us.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A few months ago, we visited this place and had a lovely couple of coffees, vowing to come again and eat. When a Groupon offer came up, it seemed like a perfect opportunity. I bought it, but didn't get to use it immediately. There followed a couple of very difficult months and I admit Groupon vouchers were not at the forefront of my mind.
It expired, and a couple of weeks later, my partner kindly called to see if there was anything that could be done. The lady manager was very abrupt and rude, and my partner continued to be polite. The manager just put the phone down without saying goodbye. I didn't necessarily expect them to honour the voucher but it would be good business sense to a) be polite and b) offer a small discount on a visit if it was necessary to decline the voucher. Even if, it seems, Groupon has swallowed all my money.
As it is, whilst we thought it was a lovely find (I had worked in the place when it was a solicitor's office!), we will not be returning. More fool them!
Not the same for the place in Nantwich - similar problem, but polite staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CBH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    3
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mold
Level 6 Contributor
565 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“tapas but not skimpy”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

an excellent chice of tapas meals
we chose the seafood paella, great tasting
sticky ribs, well they just were
lamb steak, spicy but tasty
scallops with chorizo, really good
moroccan chicken disapointing
bit overall really flavoursome tapas
excellent service
good location but off the beatne track

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellesmere port
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really nice evening”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went on a voucher deal which was great value, the good was hot and fresh, tasty and large portions.
The waitress was polie and friendly and gave lovely advice on where to go after for a drink
To begin with it was only us in the restaurant (19:30) then a second couple arrived, the atmosphere would have been better had it been a little busier.
Overall a very pleasant evening though

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephandAndy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Puzzled and disappointed by "Tapas"???”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went for early evening meal on a voucher deal which looked great value, menu sounded good if a bit eclectic. When we arrived there was only one table in the restaurant occupied and I found it slightly odd that we were put on the table right next to them squashed in a corner when the rest of the room was free and it meant both parties had to squash past each other when anyone wanted to get out.

We chose six Tapas for the deal with a view to possibly ordering some more as we went. The dishes came and looked lovely, quite generous portions. Wasn't particularly hot as we could pick the dishes straight up of the wooden board to dish out but it was all warm enough.

One of the dishes ordered was patatas bravas (which if you've ever had tapas in Spain or even at La Tasca or Spanish restaurant in the UK, you have an idea of what it should be like). However this dish turned out to be sauté potatoes with no flavouring with what we could only assume was a jarred sauce (tasted like Doritos Salsa Dip) poured over the top. Not too promising (or nice). On tasting the rest the dishes resembled tapas but tasted of very little at all. The "paella" was actually a seafood risotto (creamy and certainly not flavoured or coloured with saffron), the Tortilla was a light fluffy bland baked omelette and the spicy meatballs had little flavour and no spice, the fishcakes tasted only of potato.

It was a real shame but the food seemed to have been cooked by someone who had never visited a restaurant in Spain nor even a tapas bar in the UK, really odd. When there are so many good restaurants about these days you need to do whatever you do well and I don't think Ellies should be doing tapas if this is the best they can do as by the sounds of things other people have enjoyed other food there. Little touches also let it down like condiments, dishcloths and anti bacterial sprays being stored on view on a windowsill.

I would wish any new business well but if you are going to offer something like tapas which tend to have very distinctive flavours you need to get the taste right. Hopefully they have just had teething problems with recipes and/or chefs and they can sort this out as the venue is in a lovely spot and has the potential to thrive if done well. Maybe they should visit their competitors to taste more authentic dishes and revisit their money, I am not sure.

Disappointing for a first visit, as the saying goes you don't get a second chance to make a first impression.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vix o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Didn't even eat!!!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went for some lunch today, the restaurant wasn't busy but filled up within 15-20 minutes of us arriving. We'd already ordered at this point. We sat and watched tables that arrived quite along time (in restaurant time) after us get their food, table after table received their food. We got up to leave saying that we thing this is ridiculous to the manager, albeit she gave us our lattes for free but we were still hungry. When there is so much competition in Chester you should be striving to be the best, not alienating people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxwell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellie's Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing