We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value, Good Food, Welcoming Staff”
Review of Ellie's Bistro - CLOSED

Ellie's Bistro
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value, Good Food, Welcoming Staff”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were one of many couples/groups who took advantage of a recent Groupon deal at Ellies Bristro and which we combined with a stay in Chester over the Easter weekend. We had read the previous reviews and didn't expect much for our £19 deal but to be honest we were amazed...

...The food was pretty good and you got a good choice / decent sized portions as part of the deal; we paid a little extra for a better quality wine (it was Liz's birthday after all) and I took advantage of an choice of continental beers. The staff were very incredibly pleasant and couldn't have been more helpful - both to ourselves and other diners at the restaurant.

We enjoyed our visit to Ellies so much that we ate and stayed for more than 3 hours, we even popped in again the next day before our journey home.

As a couple we are quite fussy about where we eat, but Ellies offers excellent service, good food and a cracking selection of beers, continental lagers, wines and spirits - all at sensible prices too

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewWearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    3
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Poor food, disappointing atmosphere, careless service.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Risotto was served pretty slushy. Lasagne had little or no seasoning. There was a very short wait for food after ordering, which is surprising for a risotto.

Wine and wineglasses were brought together - the wineglasses still running with water from having been rinsed - how much effort would it take to have dried them first?

"Background" music was too loud. It seemed to be on an iPod shuffle, but with only around 10 tracks to choose from and the same few tracks came round over, and over, and over, and over again.

Lighting was uncomfortably bright.

The place was half empty, which should have alerted us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me-from-the-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I think this restaurant must have changed owners since we came last year. We were with friends and really enjoyed the "more upmarket" feel to it last year, this time it just seemed like a quite an average cafe. We weren't told whether we should order at the bar or wait to be served at the table. They did redeem themselves with the hot chocolate which was great! would only visit if there was no where else to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cityvisitor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“only the location is special”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location within the city walls & in the shadow of the cathedral, it could be so special but is no better than average in any aspect & well below in others. On a busy Saturday night when the city was buzzing ther was no atmosphere & half the tables were empty, with no one at the bar.
Whilst the waiting staff were friendly & helpful, there was nothing special about the food, decor or ambiance. There are several better choices to eat at within 2 minutes walk.
Not disasterous, just dissapointing after reading some positive reviews which did not reflect our experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value through Groupon”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Firstly service was very friendly and attentive despite only one guy running things.. We booked through groupon and was spoilt for choice on menu, we ordered 6 tapas dishes more than enough. Dish's could of done with being hotter or plates warmed as food went cold quick, some of the dishes we're lovely lamb, tortilla, rib's and stilton n walnut salad other's moroccan chicken, king prawns n patatas pretty mediocre. All in all good choice but can't help feeling maybe less choice on menu and concentrating on a few good specialities maybe the way forward the potential is certainly there...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Predo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellie's Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing