We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seek Porta out, you will not be disappointed..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porta

Porta
Ranked #21 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Seek Porta out, you will not be disappointed..”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Porta is on our doorstep, and we have visited several times now and the food and service is just great. As much or as little your appetite requires you will find many temptations at Porta with great Rioja as well.
From Padron peppers which are not easy to find in /around chester, to the pigs cheeks and these cheese dish is just mouthwatering..

The service is also very good and relaxed, there is no pressure and they are very friendly..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank musicstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    74
    32
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It might be small and you can't book, but that just adds to the authentic european feel to Porta.
Excellent tapas with specials on daily.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterschofield37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Every bit as good as its sister restaurant Joesph Benjamin”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We called in on Friday on the way from Harkers to Barlounge for a quick bite to eat and glass of wine. This was because we had heard some great things about the place and know how good their restaurant next door is. We were not disappointed and ended up staying longer than expected for a second bottle of wine :) The food is outstanding and the service impeccable. There's a choice of two reds and two white's which some may find limited but I actually found this refreshing as you can then focus on the food. The wine available has been chosen by the owners with their excellent knowledge and has been matched to the Tapas available so this made the experience even more relaxed.

This is a must visit place if your local or are just paying a visit to Chester. The food, ambience, service, location and décor are all spot on. Well done.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boy_From_Mars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little Tapas Bar”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This friendly little Tapas/Wine Bar is linked with Joseph Benjamin. We stumbled on it by chance and were delighted to discover freshly prepared tapas served by helpful staff at reasonable prices. Wish we lived nearer as we would definitely be back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JRA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish Tapas”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having done a bit of research for a visit to chester I stumbled across Porta. What a find this was. We went on a Sunday evening for a few bites to eat and couple of drinks. Once we were there I wished i hadnt booked a steak place for later in the evening but we will be back. The staff were very friendly and the bar certainly has an authentic tapas feel. We ordered the pigs cheek, padron peppers (which aren't that common in the UK), chicken wings and some almonds. All the dishes were well cooked, seasoned and a good portion size. Along with El rincon in Manchester and Dahisa in London this is one of the best Tapas places we've visited in the UK!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheChews13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porta also viewed

 

Been to Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing