We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Porta

Porta
Ranked #19 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Porta 3 times since it opened and we absolutely love the place, it's so relaxed we love the buzzing bar atmosphere - more authentic than other tapas I've had in this country. The food is simple/basic but that's what tapas is. Will be back very soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johnhop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    79
    35
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

A very nice and chilled out place. whilst it is small, this adds to the charm. The food is good and reasonably priced as are the drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tristan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I had high expectations for Porta and had anticipated it's opening for months as a tapas lover. They have even employed a Spanish chef and that can only lend authenticity to such a venture so I was keen to say the least. Just what Chester needed.

Firstly we got an awful table at the bottom of the stairs up to the toilet. We did ask for a move if another table became available. The staff did agree but we didn't get moved despitvavtable coming free. They seated a new party at the free table. Everyone off to the loo passed us!!!!! Having spent a few quid at their next door restaurant over the years this was not good.

Olives were good quality (Brindisa) but at three quid a dressing of a little sea salt good olive oil and some citrus juice would improve them immeasurably. Just turned out of the tin is not good enough at that price. Croquettas were the highlight but shy on the Bellota ham which left them under seasoned.

The Iberico ham was not good at all. I assume also from Brindisa which is normally first rate. This was sliced on a machine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! by a Spanish chef. The texture was grainy as though it had never come to room temperature. This ham should melt like butter in the mouth but it was borderline unpleasant. It was best part of 8 quid!

The razor clams turned out to be a clam in the singular. One clam??????? At six and a half pound the mark up on this dish can only be described as astronomical. Flabergasted at that one. It was tasty but I would NEVER order it again at that price. The tomato bread (pan con tomate) was laced with too much garlic even for a garlic lover. It's never that heavy in Spain.


Chicken wings needed the skin rendered so they become crisp not flaccid as served. Six pounds for two wings?????

Other dishes were average at best save for the Spanish Omellette (tortilla). This was fridge cold and solid as a house brick! It should be room temp and runny in the middle. Cooked and stood on the bar NOT in the fridge.

Wine was served in miniature 125 ml glasses but no concession on price for such a small glass.

I did not want to write a poor review as I want such ventures to prosper if they are good however none of the staff had the courtesy or training to enquire if we enjoyed our experience so I am left without a choice.

In honesty poor value for money and some items borderline cynically priced.

The acid test at the end of the day is would I go back. Answer is no.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spain arrives in Chester - and it's very welcome....”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Located in the centre of Chester, where the restaurant scene is pretty predictable and conservative. Porta is small, warm, welcoming and has an authentic vibe that creates a real sense of understated cool. This is unusual for Chester.
The staff are friendly and fast. I went with 6 friends, so we ordered the entire menu. The dishes came swiftly, but with good pacing (no one likes tapas when the tables full of plates). There's the standard dishes (potato bravas etc) and Some rusticly Spanish unusual ones (pigs cheek). The prices are fair, and there's a good wine list to boot.
Roll on summer when we can enjoy sangria in the alfresco dining court. More please. We like you....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodyLoverLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A warm welcome retreat from Christmas shopping!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

After a rather damp evening Christmas shopping in Chester we rewarded ourselves with a trip to Porta on Northgate Street, Chester. As soon as we entered this small but atmospheric little tapas bar the smells transported all the way to Spain! We enjoyed a lovely cod and egg tapas, really tasty morcillo (black pudding) and a melt in the mouth pigs cheek stew. Of course we had to wash it down with some cava and Mike also tried the spanish red house wine. We were tempted by the creamy portuguese custard tarts which we had with a lovely espresso coffee. Service was excellent and we will definitely be back for more!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HattyDebbyDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porta also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing