We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spain arrives in Chester - and it's very welcome....”
Review of Porta

Porta
Ranked #18 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spain arrives in Chester - and it's very welcome....”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Located in the centre of Chester, where the restaurant scene is pretty predictable and conservative. Porta is small, warm, welcoming and has an authentic vibe that creates a real sense of understated cool. This is unusual for Chester.
The staff are friendly and fast. I went with 6 friends, so we ordered the entire menu. The dishes came swiftly, but with good pacing (no one likes tapas when the tables full of plates). There's the standard dishes (potato bravas etc) and Some rusticly Spanish unusual ones (pigs cheek). The prices are fair, and there's a good wine list to boot.
Roll on summer when we can enjoy sangria in the alfresco dining court. More please. We like you....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodyLoverLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    76
    34
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A warm welcome retreat from Christmas shopping!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

After a rather damp evening Christmas shopping in Chester we rewarded ourselves with a trip to Porta on Northgate Street, Chester. As soon as we entered this small but atmospheric little tapas bar the smells transported all the way to Spain! We enjoyed a lovely cod and egg tapas, really tasty morcillo (black pudding) and a melt in the mouth pigs cheek stew. Of course we had to wash it down with some cava and Mike also tried the spanish red house wine. We were tempted by the creamy portuguese custard tarts which we had with a lovely espresso coffee. Service was excellent and we will definitely be back for more!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HattyDebbyDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like being in Cadiz without flying!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Think we tried nearly everything, washed down with a few glasses of good wine!! Having frequently stayed near Cadiz in the main Tapas region of southern Spain and becoming more and more drawn in by the Tapas style of eating, this had a great deal to live up to! WE were NOT disappointed! Food was excellent, dishes were authentic and well-proportioned. The style of "a little bit of this and a little bit of that" in a relaxed atmosphere, could not fail to disappoint. MUCH cheaper and more convenient than flying to Spain, although could have done with a warmer, drier evening!! Well done and we hope this becomes a real success! Love the furnishings!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing, quaint tapas bar”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We visited Chester for a short break in November and walked passed this quaint little restaurant on our way to The Wall. Porta is hidden back from the street, next to the Roman Wall. On entering we were greated with a lovely warm and friendly atmosphere. Seated at a high table with stools made it feel even more authentic. The menu is small but offers all of the usual tapas items that you would expect, plus some others.
The food was bought out plate by plate when each dish was ready, and was delicious. Possilby some of the best tapas I've ever had. The service was friendly and they were very well informed on the items in the menu when we asked for a description of some of the food we were not sure of.
Overall I thoroughly enjoyed our experience in Porta, a delightful little tapas bar. I would highly recommend a visit!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WhizzyValentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Was really looking forward to this opening, however was rather disappointed.

Patatas bravas were quite soggy and the sauce rather bland, Morcilla de Burgos was nothing like what I eat when in Burgos and tasted just like mass produced supermarket quality black pudding, the deep fried aubergine again was soggy as if the oil wasn’t hot enough, though the Salmorejo was tasty. To top it all off they didn’t have any padron peppers.

Service was friendly, however they need to sort out the food quality, unless they are simply trying to live off the much overhyped reputation of their other restaurant next door.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gbpublishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porta also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing