We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unforgettable cottage with very high standards.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Douglas Cottage

Douglas Cottage designed built by Chester’s renowned architect John Douglas
Romantic fairytale gothi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Douglas Cottage designed built by Chester’s renowned architect John Douglas
Romantic fairytale gothi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Douglas Cottage designed built by Chester’s renowned architect John Douglas
Romantic fairytale gothi
A warm welcome awaits you
Living room
Elegant dining
Dining room French windows opening to courtyard garden
Elegant dining
Delightful courtyard garden
Breakfast bar leading into kitchen area equipped with high end appliances
Breakfast awaits
Master Bedroom, first floor
Master Bedroom featuring turret relaxation area
Bathroom serving first floor
Winding staircase at first floor level
Feature stair case with ornate skylight
Second Floor Twin Bedroom
Second Floor Twin Bedroom En-suite
It`s time to book your stay at Douglas Cottage
John Douglas Architech
Chesters East Gate Clock Designed by John Douglas, Less than 5 minutes walk
Location Map of Douglas Cottage Chester City Centre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MarjOrie2...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unforgettable cottage with very high standards.”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Very individual styled house with a surprise in every room.Extremely clean and comfortable condition throughout.Small but well equipped kitchen and a useful welcome pack was presented.The owners were present to greet us and to show us all we needed to know.There was always plenty of hot water.
The position of the house was very good for access to the shops and restaurants.We discovered some lovely eating places.This was an ideal loation for touring the area and North Wales.Thankyou owners.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so well equipped
Liked least: nothing was below expectaions
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnniSmith...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and gorgeous cottage and very attentive owners.”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic location. Douglas Cottage was spotless. Gorgeous cottage with every facility including wifi. Andy and Barbara were very welcoming and at the end of a phone to answer our queries. Lovely welcome basket too and shown round by this lovely couple. We would recommend and hope to be back soon.
Anne Maria from Glasgow.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous cottage and brilliant location
Liked least: I had to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
16Stewart...
EastMarkham
1 review
“Unbeatable for welcome, comfort , and cleanliness.”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our second visit to Douglas cottage was a huge success, (first visit Dec 2012). From the warm welcome Andrew and Barbara gave us to the cosy atmosphere of the cottage everything was just as we remembered it. This being a 'girls weekend' meant we really appreciated being literally 'just round the corner' from the main high street with all the shops and restaurants, add to this cosy evenings in the sitting room and you've the ingredients for the perfect break. Our last visit being in the winter meant we didn't really get to appreciate the pretty courtyard the cottage offers - but this years late sunshine brought it into its own. I honestly feel that no one could fail to love this place - in my opinion the perfect cottage in a beautiful historic city.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it is as remembered - a lovely place to stay.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike about this place, we loved it as much second time round.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed 3 nights early August. Just two of us and cottage lived up to expectations set by pictures. Great for two, OK size for 4 but would be tight on space for any more.
A lot of care and thought has gone into furnishing and decorating the cottage - much appreciated by us. It is NOT a bland holiday rental.
Lots of restaurants, bars and cafe's nearby, also lovely park and the River Dee. All easy walking.
Strongly recommend and hope to visit again.
Be aware - we found some of the restaurants we would have liked to eaten at were closed evenings Mon, Tue and Wens.
Strongly recommend the Hop on/off bus, especially go in morning when we had a superb real live guide!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carys66
Torquay, Australia
1 review
“Just perfect, thank you!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Thanks to Barbara and Andrew for welcoming us warmly to your cottage. It was a perfect way to spend our last week of travels before returning to Australia. We were back home visiting Chester to see family and friends. Travelled with our two adult children and there was plenty of space for us all. Bath Street is a fantastic spot. Close to everything and it was great to walk the walls again, something Graham and I used to do every Sunday when we were teenagers. Nice to have parking at the front of the house and if we didn't get a spot in the evening after a day out, we parked around the corner and moved the car when a spot became available, which didn't take very long. The cottage was immaculate, and the basket of goodies left was most appreciated, many thanks. Lots of thought has been put into making sure you have everything you need from a first aid kit to washing powder and plenty of tea and coffee. I would recommend a stay at Douglas Cottage to everyone!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael07...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“PERFECT except the parking situation”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a very friendly welcome, the house was very clean in a TOP condition and ( city) location. Not cheap but it`s the money worth. This place is highly recommendable for a family with two kids.

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2014
Douglas Cottage has a superb central location within Chester City centre, few yards from all amenities and attractions eg shops, restaurants, Grosvernor Park, River Dee, Roman amphitheatre, famous rows etc. Therefore parking is by permit supplied at no extra cost ( guests must display the permit in the car windscreen )

A warm welcome awaits you at Douglas Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathy1870...
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful, amazing cottage in the centre of Chester”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just stayed at Douglas Cottage for 3 nights. We were met by Barabara & Dave, the cottage exceeds the photo's on the holiday lettings website.

It is very beautiful, and pristine. You feel like your the only people to have stayed there! We were left a welcome basket which was extremly handy. The cottage has everything you could possibly need, with lovely touches that you would get in a hotel!

Out 14 year old daughter and her friend were very happy with the top floor bedroom and bathroom!! As it is so close to town they could go off and shop by themselves. There is also a waitrose just around the corner.

The master bedroom is very calming, So impressed with it that Barabara is sending me a sample of the paint (bless her!)

Very comfortable stay, they have thought of everything.

Can recommend Hickorys restaurant by the river, not far from the cottage either!

Will defintely be returning (without the teenagers)! Wouldn't hestiate to recomend this award winning cottage.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing