We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem, well worth seeking out”
Review of The Bird in Hand

The Bird in Hand
Ranked #186 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“A little gem, well worth seeking out”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Saturday February 2014 4:30pm party of 15 Pre-booked. This little gem is well off the beaten track but well worth seeking out. We came across it from a walking book that was ten years old and although the pub has gone through different ownership in that time the ethos of a warm welcome certainly still exists. We arrived after a soaking walk and the temperature was only just in the positives but we were greeted by a roaring fire and the staff who couldn't do more to assist. Food menu covers most of the pub basics although isn't as substantial as some. Still our 15 were able to find something and all complimented the swift service, the quantity and the quality on the plate. Prices are reasonable for mains and deserts and the choice of ales seems to be quite extensive.
A good place with a warm welcome and would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weekend_Roamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very wet walk...”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

After a very wet walk around Huckenhull Platts, 15 wet walkers arrived at the Bird. We had pre-booked and meals were pre-ordered. Arriving a little earlier than expected we found our reserved area all ready and the fire well lit. This was a joy for some as it gave a chance to dry out. A choice of three reals ales instantly put a smile on my face. All in excellent condition and I can personally vouch for that ;-) All meals arrived and were polished off quickly and for a largish group of people I heard of no complaints or criticism.
Many thanks for your hospitality and I'm sure if we are walking in the area again we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank vinni02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Really Great Food”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really varied menu, always very tasty food. As ever the staff are very friendly. A good selection of real ales and a nice cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really tasty food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband spotted the menu advertised elsewhere recently so we decided to try it, neither of us had been there for over 30 years. Our starters were Black pudding with runny poached egg & toast and Warm goat's cheese with beetroot and toasted walnut salad, our mains were steak & kidney pudding and Pork & leek sausages and both came with creamy mash peas and gravy. The food was really delicious, service excellent and we will go back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great homecooked food!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Six of us booked to celebrate a birthday and family visit. All courses were served with a smile and not a long wait at all between courses. The food was piping hot, the pork belly was particularly delicious. Plenty of choice with two veggie options. Pub abit quiet but it was early evening. Well worth a visit for a home cooked meal. I was assured the beer was good too! Please visit so we can keep this little gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bird in Hand also viewed

 

Been to The Bird in Hand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing