We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve 2012”
Review of The Frog

The Frog
Ranked #121 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine dining along with GastroPub with a flair of elegance. All ingredients locally sourced and freshly prepared in the kitchen from the bread to the ice cream. Together with a unique fantastic range of wines and freshly prepared cocktails using only fresh products.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New Years Eve 2012”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellent night, great food, music, excellent New Years meal. Meal was fantastic as always. Our host Ken was warm and friendly as always. Staff were attentive and the chef deserves high honours for a fantastic meal. Music provided by resident DJ and Quiz master Steve got us dancing till the wee hours. recommend The Dinningroom anytime for a great meal. Thrusday night is Quiz night full of fun. Ideal venue for food, drinks and relaxing in great surroundings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    33
    7
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Capestang, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Better than average pub grub”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Typical suburban pub, menu varied but very limited vegetarian choice of a single dish. However the chef was very amenable and offered to cook meal of choice for the vegetarian in party. Meals were hearty pub food, well cooked and generous portions. Prices what you'd expect for this type of meal

Helpful?
Thank fiona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Gotta say we had a nice evening with the outlaws but it really was average in every aspect, we had to question the bill as it was 2 for £10 but they charged us full price . Drinks are not cheap and the food was just ok for the price. Would i go again? Probably not!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Glad we returned”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Impulsive choice but glad we chose to go there. Have not been for some time but food was good - loved mexican griddle - service was good and we were made to feel welcome. Wine was excellent and reasonably priced. Many thanks .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireChallenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“dining at The Frog”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was a local deal we picked up on Groupon. We payed £45 for coupon. The deal was any 2 courses, (starter & main, ) or (main & dessert), for 4.. . plus 4 glasses of wine. I had mushrooms for starters & sea bass for my main which was excellent, and plenty of it. The others had onion soup with a bread roll, and steaks, for mains, which came as ordered cooking wise. The service was a little slow, but overall it was very good value. the house wine was good as well. Keith Davies

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frog also viewed

Rossett, Wrexham
 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing