We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great brunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmalade

Marmalade
Ranked #8 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

stumbled upon Marmalade today, looking for a coffee and brunch - wasn't disappointed!great staff, food and atmosphere. Will definitely be coming here again - felt very welcomed and staff were very accommodating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    94
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quick coffee - very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

First visit, a nice buzz on a Sat afternoon, staff very friendly and a good menu. Had coffee this time, will return for lunch in future.

Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really good for a light lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were stood in the centre of Chester not knowing the area, trying to figure out where to go for lunch. We just wanted a nice sandwich or soup. Out came my tripadvisor App on my phone which brought up this place that had excellent reviews and looked like what we were looking for.

It didn't disappoint. It is a small sandwich shop. It is very clean, the lady who worked there was very friendly and the food was very good. We had soup which was clearly home made and very tasty, along with a pannini and a drink. Obviously it's not 5 star dining but it deserves 5 trip advisor stars because for the type of place it is, a small sandwich/tea shop, which gets it spot on and is excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LSelvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Food lovely and pleasant staff. Everything was immaculate. Waitress could smile a little more perhaps. All in all good lunch

Helpful?
1 Thank G_flare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch with coeliac friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I can thoroughly recommend marmalade for their welcome. They were helpful and adapted the menu to suit a 14 month old diner. My friend is coeliac and was thrilled that she could enjoy the whole menu. A great place for lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debrapeter1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmalade also viewed

 

Been to Marmalade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing