We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Chester!”
Review of Marmalade

Marmalade
Ranked #9 of 558 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Chester!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Since we discovered Marmalade, we won't go anywhere else for breakfast, nothing else in Chester compares. Delicious local bacon, sausages and the only black pudding I've ever tried and enjoyed. The best scrambled eggs ever! Delicious quality full English and a hot drink £7.95 absolute bargain. Wide range of lunch options to eat in and take away, and lots of gluten free options (including cakes!). A little gem, not to be missed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlereen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    109
    19
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in a long while!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We were in Chester for only one night, and had scoured TripAdvisor for places to have a decent breakfast before continuing on our travels. Marmalade came top of our list and were not wrong in choosing it. We were warmly welcomed and given a lovely cooked breakfast. The best eggy bread I've ever had and the hot chocolate was nice and strong. If ever we are in Chester again, we will be coming back to Marmalade!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacquiTCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food and atmosphere but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The food is lovely and there's a good selection, the staff are nice and friendly too. The scrambled eggs are amazing!
However, overall things are a bit over priced and your looking at paying around £8 for breakfast with a drink. Also, their coffee isn't great, tastes pretty weak and is served in wide cups so goes cold. Get some decent mugs!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Itsaljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food Great, Shame about the service”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We live in Chester and have only just found this place for breakfast and lunch. We have visited a couple of times and have always found the food and welcome great. However that all changed today. We arrived slightly after the breakfast menu had finished but noticed everyone still eating breakfast, we asked could we order breakfast and were told NO is a very clear tone. We mentioned that we had met the owner on a previous visit and were told if we mentioned breakfast after the finish time we would be able to still order. We had friends over from the USA and had a late night but still no chance of breakfast. Finding a good place for breakfast in Chester can be a hard task and we thought we had found the place but after the welcome today we will not be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hondacb750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly staff, great paninis and coffee”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Went here for the first time today .... we wanted take out which was no trouble at all. Great atmosphere in the cafe, staff so friendly and helpful. Fantastic variety of fillings for sandwiches and paninis at a great price and coffee was delicious too. So good that my 2 boys said they were the best they'd ever tasted. We'll definitely be back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crockytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmalade also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Marmalade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing