We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab for everyone - allergy friendly!”
Review of Marmalade

Marmalade
Ranked #8 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fab for everyone - allergy friendly!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Friendly and knowledgeable staff who ensured our comfort in every way. I have wheat and dairy food intolerences. There was no problem with this, they have gluten and dairy free bread, various sandwich options and homemade soups . For those not suffering allergies or intolerances, there is plenty of choice, including freshly made cakes and scones. A winner for everyone!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    107
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab new cafe!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Great menu, top service, and children very welcome. Great to see a good range of soups. Definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdm1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing staff”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

the food if the best ever i loved the chocolate cake the waiter was very nice and friendly i would five it 5 out of 5 it is just a very good cafe shop.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lola123456789101112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It might be slightly off the beaten track but it is worth the diversion.

The Marmalade is set away from the usual tourist haunts of Chester but this helps to make it that bit more special. The service was friendly and the food excellent. I had a soup and sandwich combo (spicy butternut squash soup, with a tasty chicken and bacon sandwich) which represented excellent value for money. This was washed down with an extremely good latte. Service was quick and the surroundings pleasant.

All in all a very good place for a bite to eat, we will certainly be visiting again on our next trip to Chester.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Staffordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Gluten Free Heaven!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

It's not easy finding places to eat if you're on a gluten free diet and my wife's options are generally very limited, especially at lunchtime. We were delighted to come across Marmalade on a day trip to Chester: I had spotted the board on the pavement earlier in the day and we decided to go back for a late lunch. The homemade pea and pancetta soup was delicious as we're the sandwiches and cakes - elderflower drizzle for me, a gluten free scone for my wife with jam and clotted cream. Service was friendly and the cafe was spotlessly clean. There is a lot of competition for places to eat in Chester, but Marmalade deserves to succeed, not least for making the effort to cater for people with wheat intolerance! Thank you.

Helpful?
8 Thank BigC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmalade also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Marmalade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing