We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmalade

Marmalade
Ranked #8 of 547 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

It might be slightly off the beaten track but it is worth the diversion.

The Marmalade is set away from the usual tourist haunts of Chester but this helps to make it that bit more special. The service was friendly and the food excellent. I had a soup and sandwich combo (spicy butternut squash soup, with a tasty chicken and bacon sandwich) which represented excellent value for money. This was washed down with an extremely good latte. Service was quick and the surroundings pleasant.

All in all a very good place for a bite to eat, we will certainly be visiting again on our next trip to Chester.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    94
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rural Staffordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Gluten Free Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

It's not easy finding places to eat if you're on a gluten free diet and my wife's options are generally very limited, especially at lunchtime. We were delighted to come across Marmalade on a day trip to Chester: I had spotted the board on the pavement earlier in the day and we decided to go back for a late lunch. The homemade pea and pancetta soup was delicious as we're the sandwiches and cakes - elderflower drizzle for me, a gluten free scone for my wife with jam and clotted cream. Service was friendly and the cafe was spotlessly clean. There is a lot of competition for places to eat in Chester, but Marmalade deserves to succeed, not least for making the effort to cater for people with wheat intolerance! Thank you.

Helpful?
8 Thank BigC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A gem of a cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

On a bitterly cold February day, my wife and I ventured upon this Deva (Chester) treasure.
We had been looking for a long gone veggie place but were rewarded for our persistence with the best Soup and Sandwich ever! A choice of 3 soups, all homemade, healthy and delicious ... and a choice of c 10 sandwiches .... top class ingredients and wholesome, all beautifully presented.
This is a 'must do' for tourists and Cestrians alike .... a little off the beaten track from the town centre, but find the Cathedral and walk away from the direction of the centre and it is just 3 minutes!
A gem ... support it and enjoy it ... businesses like this really deserve to thrive.
Plus ,,, the proprietress is lovely and so friendly!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyHowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Martins, Oswestry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe, friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a find! There is nothing to fault about this cafe - the interior is smart, the menu is mouth- watering and the service is friendly. It was also a nice supprise to see that the menu caters for gluten free diets. I had the homemade soup (there was a choice of three) which was delicious and the price was right too! I will certainly be going back and highly recommend Marmalade as a delicious place to eat!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleBird78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

A fabulous cafe just slightly out of the centre of Chester, serving a great array of breakfast (until 11am) items including the best scrambled eggs only second to my own :D , great seasonal menu with freshly made soups & cakes everyday and a cream tea to die for. And there is always fabulous service from Dawn and her team.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmalade also viewed

 

Been to Marmalade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing