We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Albion Inn
Nearby Hotels
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$63
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$89
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$94
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ABode Chester(Chester)
$94
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
67
14
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
14
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoatcakescottage piethe pubwonderful publiver and onionsreal alegreat memorabiliaexcellent beerreal firemy partnerlovely mealsaturday nightbar areaalespintpubsmike
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 89 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I so wanted to like this place. The bar is lovely and the menu makes a welcome change from the same old choices you seem to get everywhere else, however, the service was weirdly quite unfriendly.

The food was very much hit and miss and could just do with a bit more attention to detail, the pub is themed around the war years but no need for the food to taste like it's made with rations.

Maybe we caught them on an off day so I might try again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MysteryGuestRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

a small group of us went to chester for drinks in January 2014 we came across the albion and went for a drink. once inside we ordered our drinks had a bit of banter with the bar staff and took our seats. within 5 mins of been there the landlord appeared and asked us to drink up and leave, when we asked him what the problem was he said that there was a sign on the way in that we didn't read saying no stag partys. our ages range from 35-51 and there was women in our group, so certainly not on a stag do. no amount of arguing our case could change his mind the landlord was rude and intolerable and the bar staff were embarrassed by his behaviour. I would even go as far as to say they discriminate, they want a certain type of cliental and if your face don't fit you won't be welcome. enter at your peril.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank griffiths14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a wonderful little pub that never seems to change. It is friendly and full of memorabilia from times past. The food is good and honest no chips! but try the liver and mash very yummy.
The interior is slightly shabby but that just adds to the atmosphere. If you want a modern slick pub don't go but if you want atmosphere and a feeling of a true pub highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGSFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

A nice little pub to get away from all of the mass produced rubbish on the high street. Good honest food, good beer, good atmosphere. It's a real gem. The problem is its too expensive but that's the price to pay for authenticity these days. Small but well run.

Who ever recommended the cross keys over this little pub is joking right?

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaspertearoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My partner and I came across THE ALBION by accident, after seeing the menu board in the street, whilst making our way towards the river.
We were welcomed by an extremely friendly hostess who allowed us to bring our small dog in with us into the bar area. She couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating - Even bringing our dog a bowl of water.
After choosing our meals from options on a large chalk board they arrived after a short wait even though they seemed quite busy. Food was tasty and HOME made - however not huge portions. That said,we would certainly recommend it, and the surroundings were really interesting with many items from the 1930's and 40's. We would definitely go back, if in the area.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank diamondcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews