We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very scenic location”
Review of Cheshire Cat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheshire Cat Hotel
Ranked #25 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very scenic location”
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Cheshire Cat. We had room 6, one of the outside cottages, which was clean and well equipped, backing on to the Shropshire canal. Our only complaint was that the pillows were extremely hard. Breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection of criossants, pastries, bread and bagels; yogurts, fresh fruit, cereals and dried fruit, cheese and preserves. The hotel is in a beautiful spot although situated on a very busy A road. A walk along the canal tow path before or after your meal is a very peaceful experience, taking in the many narrow boats either moored or negotiating the waterway and the lovely homes who's gardens also back on to the canal on the opposite bank. The food served at the hotel is good with an excellent choice of wines, although there is a Harvester just half a mile up the road easily accessible via the tow path or main road. Chester city centre is just 2 miles from the Hotel. We used the park and ride facility which is just about 3/4 mile from the Hotel. We would certainly use this Hotel again.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jill150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    92
    28
    13
    11
See reviews for
64
129
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed over part of the August Bank Holiday weekend. Good location, few minutes drive from park and ride into Chester. You could walk in along canal towpath if you wanted a nice walk. Unfortunately the weather let us down a little. We had room 5 in main building, up the stairs and into the attic. Room was a good size with a large bathroom over the hall. Yes, the window was very small but for how long we stayed in the room it did not matter. We could still see the boats on the canal. Room facilities good, shower a bit weak in the bathroom. The food was very nice for the price paid and even over a bank holiday we did not wait too long. A good value location for a trip to Chester!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed 2 nights for going to the zoo as its close by but not in the centre of Chester. The food at breakfast was ample but continental is not really want I want when away. We had two evening meals and the service was quick and friendly but the food was only average and to be fair what you would expect to find in a pub when a meal for three is less than £30.
The pub is next to the canal so quite sceneic and on arrival (Sunday) couldn't park due to it being lovely and hot and the place was packed with customers. Much quieter later thought.
The room was above the bar but quiet and we heard no noise, it was quite large and felt spacious enough even with a sofabed made into a double bed for my daughter.
The shower was a let down though coming out in a trickle. Ther are newer rooms in an annex but we did not see them. All in all I would return if I came back to Chester.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul-pw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, UK
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed here as we were going for a day trip to the zoo with our daughter. Have stayed at the other InnKeepers Lodge in Chester and this one is far superior. The pub offers IKL standard buffet continental breakfast. There is always plenty to eat. There really is no need for a 'full english' - even better the continental breakfats is free! The location is nice, with the canal running along behind the accomodation and the food in the pub is superb, an excellent selection of a wide variety of meals. Nice grounds outside the sid eof the pub and even though there is no swings/slides etc it is still a nice area for children to run around. When I return to Chester this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloria1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos on Sea, North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Stayed for one night. Room 12 was very good, clean, quiet and the bathroom was excellent. Food in the pub was of very good quality and excellent value as was the breakfast.

This was a free night as we had had a very poor time at the Innkeepers Lodge in Aigburth in Liverpool and complained. All we can say is that the two don't seem to be in the same group as the Cheshire Cat was way out of the Aigburth Lodge's league.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haydock
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one night whilst attending a nearby wedding.The staff were very welcoming and pleasant.,however on the day of our visit ,they seemed woefully understaffed,,The staff that were on duty were at it none stop...our trip coincided with the nicest day of the year so far and i dont think that they where expecting so much buissiness,,,,the bar service was slow,,,we had a meal there which was average,,,,,its in a lovley location and although they had an"Off" day i would give it another chance if i was in the area again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsallliesanyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Stayed 5 nights. check in very efficient and swift. Allocated room 4 which is in the attic up a flight of stairs - it has a very small window and on asking if there was a better room we were allocated room 4 which has two small window- rooms in main building appear better. Some rooms are in annex which we did not see.

Room was clean and will need decorating soon but servicing of the room was very good by chearful and well trained staff.

Continental Breakfast was buffet style with good choice and well serviced.

At £30 each bandb its excellent value.

The Cheshire Cat is really a food based pub with rooms and busy serving meals all the time. Its good pub food delivered by well trained, helfull staff. Sunday roast £6.50 - evening mains average £8.

We walked along the tow path to Chester - its 3 or 4 miles but very interesting walk- we returned on the Park and Ride bus which is 15min walk to Cheshire Cat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northumberlandscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
2.1 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
258 reviews
2.7 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#20 of 44 in Chester
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
1.8 mi away
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 79 in Chester
78 reviews
3.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarvin
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Hotel

Property: Cheshire Cat Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | The Cheshire Cate, Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the places to stay in Chester, this historic lodge has some of the best tales to tell. Built in Christleton on a key civil war battle site, the Cheshire Cat played a crucial role in World War II before being restored as a warm and welcoming hotel in the 1970s.The lodge's 14 comfy en-suite rooms are complemented by a cosy pub, which is dripping with rustic character and rural charm. Here you can enjoy seasonally inspired country dining together with a range of cask ales and well-chosen wines.There are plenty of things to see and do in Chester. Fantastic shopping, black and white medieval architecture, historic city walls and the famous Chester Racecourse are just a few of its many attractions. Children and adults alike will love Chester zoo or you can explore the weaving footpaths of the unspoilt Delamere Forest. West Cheshire is full of rolling hills, sweeping valleys and quaint market towns worth exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cheshire Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Cat Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing