We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major things fine.Small not quite...”
Review of Cheshire Cat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheshire Cat Hotel
Ranked #25 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Food,bathroom,manager and staff excellent.Outdoor sitting areas very good and well used.
Smaller matters? Cobwebs rear bedroom door. No knobs on wardrobe doors.
Breakfast room failed to function one morning (only 1 staff on duty) but was remedied after my pleas. The room was fine but not much dusting done in some areas. Annoying landing light on all night, But we would definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevJohnandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent stay at The Cheshire Cat, Christleton, Chester .
Best regards
Innkeeper's Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Cheshire Cat Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 251 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Smiles all round - thoroughly enjoyed our stay - great location close to Park & Ride although we walked into Chester along the canal. Appreciated the warm and genuine welcome from Peter. We stayed in a large family room (2) and even then it was a bit warm as we stayed during the heatwave but it was only for two nights so not overly concerned. We had an excellent dinner but were not overly impressed with the continental breakfast although the coffee was very good! The room in which the breakfast is served looked like it hadn't been cleaned from the evening before and the serving area was a bit makeshift. All in all though we would go back and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Chester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A great pub with B and B just outside Chester.

Rooms are large, clean with good decoration. Continental breakfast was good, although presentation could be improved. The staff were very helpful.

We chose this B and B as it had a great location, and were very impressed by the rooms and food and service in the pub. There is a canal at the rear of the hotel, which has a great sun terrace overlooking it - a great place for lunch for breakfast or lunch in the sun.


Very close to

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelleleete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Chester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

It was very warm on the day/ evening of our overnight stay and our room in the Annex ( like all others) had had hot sun pouring in through the window all day and consequently was like an oven. The windows came down to floor level ( design fault) and because of " Health & Safety "etc could only be partially opened. As we were two responsible adults I asked Management whether the window lock could be released to open the window for our own " Health and Well Being" .
We were politely refused, were not able to change rooms (they probably all had the same problem anyway) and neither were portable fans/ blowers available.
Consequently we had no sleep at all in the night,the temperature in the room being 27C. My wife tried to sleep on the floor with her head next to the small window opening but it made little difference.

I appreciate that we have been going through a spell of very hot weather and although I do not expect airconditioning, the hotel should have a portable fans availaable on request. It is also time that this ridiculous Health & Safety issue with open windows was overturned.

One solution in this hotel would be to have protective bars fitted to the windows thus providing security and H &S but also adequate ventilation. I hope Management will look into this.

Sadly this issue rather coloured our impression of this hotel which in other areas of location, service and food was reasonable for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Annex are next to the canal but unfortunately there are no windows on that side . In ho...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHILIP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked this innkeepers lodge as a last minute option and we were amazed with this place.
Beside the canal this is a very quiet scenic place, busy all day but not loud.

We were greeted by a very friendly staff member who flew through the check in and was very welcoming.

We were a bit disappointed when he said we were in the smaller room, but we were amazed when we got up there to the 'hedgehog'.
Bright spacious clean, gleaming white linen. We were over joyed.

The bed was comfy and large, the only small criticism is that the window was too small on a very hot weekend.

With a late checkout of 12PM we went for an amazing breakfast out in the sunshine on the terrace, and then went back to bed to sleep it off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback after visiting Innkeeper’s Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Recently stayed here as we had a wedding in Chester. We could only book if we made a reservation for 2 nights as the races were on in Chester. I also found that the cost during the race season rises, therefore costing more. The hotel was nice but lacked in a few areas such as - had to ask for more towels as there was enough for 3, however there was 4 of us. Said there were ironing facilities in the room but had to ask for them, the breakfast was a bit of a muddle had to ask for milk as none left, had to get the toast done in the kitchen as the toaster kept "tripping", had to ask could we order our cooked breakfast as we had paid for this when the booking was made, and when entering for breakfast we were not asked if we would like this option. The service on the Sunday was not very good as the member of staff serving was on her own, and it was rather busy as there was more people in for breakfast. On checking out, the member of staff who served the breakfast insisted that although we had paid our bill we still had to pay for the cooked breakfast !! I assured her that it was all paid for months ago when the booking was made, after her stating that the cooked breakfast was separate, I showed her the invoice stating that it had been paid, to which she muttered an apology and immediately disappeared !! The room was nice and clean, however there is another brand that I would try and stay with if visiting Chester again. If anyone was to book and had a disability they should be asked when booking, as when the pub closes you have to enter via a steep metal staircase/fire exit that could also be dangerous when wet as can be very slippy - not mentioned when booked.

Room Tip: Would of liked one of the rooms overlooking the canal.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superhilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked a family room as a last minute option as we were taking my daughter and her friend to Chester Rocks at the racecourse. The girl at check in was lovely as were the bar staff and the gentleman running the restaurant. The room was lovely and clean and bright. We had a drink out by the canal and also had our evening meal there which was ok but a little on the expensive side for what we had. The breakfast was more than adequate but we had to keep asking for things to be topped up but as this is complimentary you couldn't grumble. This was an ideal location as it was only a short taxi ride into Chester itself and we will definitely stay there again when we visit Chester

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
2.1 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
263 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
2.5 mi away
80 Watergate Street
80 Watergate Street
#1 of 78 in Chester
127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#16 of 78 in Chester
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | The Cheshire Cate, Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $83 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the places to stay in Chester, this historic lodge has some of the best tales to tell. Built in Christleton on a key civil war battle site, the Cheshire Cat played a crucial role in World War II before being restored as a warm and welcoming hotel in the 1970s.The lodge's 14 comfy en-suite rooms are complemented by a cosy pub, which is dripping with rustic character and rural charm. Here you can enjoy seasonally inspired country dining together with a range of cask ales and well-chosen wines.There are plenty of things to see and do in Chester. Fantastic shopping, black and white medieval architecture, historic city walls and the famous Chester Racecourse are just a few of its many attractions. Children and adults alike will love Chester zoo or you can explore the weaving footpaths of the unspoilt Delamere Forest. West Cheshire is full of rolling hills, sweeping valleys and quaint market towns worth exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cheshire Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Cat Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing