We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Cheshire Cat will bring a smile!”
Review of Cheshire Cat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheshire Cat Hotel
Ranked #19 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We arrived around 1040hrs on a cold December morning for coffee and a light lunch. The hotel underwent refurbishment last year and this was my first visit. This is grand building steeped in history dating from around 1805. I have heard it has a WW2 history but I have not researched this as yet.
Car parking is plentiful with disabled bays and access to the hotel is good with no issues. We ordered coffees and the staff made us feel so very welcome and we had a look around the bar and restaurant areas. The restaurant areas are very well appointed and the bar area is traditional and compliments the building.
It was almost as if the staff expected someone to be coming to write a review!..... They lit a fire for us and invited us to rearrange the furniture to take advantage of the flaming logs. The service from all the staff was cheerful and nothing was to much trouble. Top marks!
A few coffees later it was time for some lunch.... Shepherds Pie (winter comfort food for me) and trout for my friend. The pie was very good with a slightly crispy potato topping cooked to perfection. The side order of vegetables was freshly cooked. The trout with almonds and freshly cooked vegetables was very good and well presented. Very good value for money.....
We enjoyed our visit so much we are looking at booking in for a night or two just for relaxing break and a few drinks. It's good to know in advance that the service will be top drawer and it's on the doorstep for Chester plus some fly fishing nearby if that floats your boat.
I find it hard to give 5 stars as I have not had the full experience....I have been told by friends the rooms are very good and I take these reviews seriously.
We give 4 stars plus and close to 5 for the lunch and coffees plus great staff ranging from the part time breakfast lady who loved her job to the young man from Liverpool....both are a credit to the Cheshire Cat..... Well done and highly recommended.

PS ....... Canal runs alongside and the grounds look awesome for a summer visit.

If this review helps you in anyway please hit the button :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John5389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 274 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Recommended by a friend. Stayed 1 night but wished had stayed another. Lovely room and excellent base for Chester. Nice old fashioned british pub. Food excellent and staff very friendly. Will definately be going back there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevbrown25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Firstly I would like to congratulate Peter the manager for running such a fantastic place! We booked for 3 nights in between xmas and new year and enjoyed ourself so much, we booked an extra night stay so was there on New Years Eve. The food is fantastic, the rooms clean and comfortable (we stayed in room 5 in the main building) and ALL of the staff were amazing, always have a smile and actually enjoy their work. Special thanks goes to Andy (Nico) who went over and above during our stay there, nothing was too much trouble for him. We will definitely be returning....soon I hope! Can highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozzie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

What a great place to use as a base to visit Chester, we stayed in room 7 which was spacious, comfortable and well equiped with views over the canal.
The Manager greeted us with a friendly smile and both he and his staff were very helpfull during our stay, we will certainly be stopping here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainman_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just returned from a saturday night stay at the cheshire cat Fab inside the pub really cosy and warm and the smell of coffee as you walk in is devine. Stayed in room 12 great little room and bathroom everything in there you could want, could not fault it.
Staff excellent and very helpfull and polite. The manager was superb he is a credit to the place very chatty and funny.
Had a meal and drinks on the saturday night. Everything was spot on service was great, we had a very nice meal was excellent , drinks and cheese board by the open fire to finish our evening hot chocolate with orange Mmmmm.Had a lovely time this was our second visit, and we will be back in the near future.

Room Tip: Room 12 was outside in the annexe on top floor great little room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treaclechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had two meals here one at lunchtime and one in the evening both meals were lovely would recommend this to anyone wanting a nice meal at a reasonable price we would also like to stay there if the price was reasonable as we could see one of the bedrooms open when we took a trip to the toilet ( very nice )

Room Tip: Better than the harvester a few minutes away (THE OLD TROOPER ) nicer staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bageyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have eaten here many times in thepast when visiting Chester. This time I stayed overnight. There is a new manager and the rather tired furnishings have been replaced without spoiling the atmosphere. The manager was very friendly and helpful, as were all the staff.
A friend and I stayed in one of the rooms in the main house, which had been tastefully decorated and was comfortable. We ate a tasty meal there in the evening, noting that there s now table service as opposed to the previous system of ordering at the bar.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are more spacious than those in the annexe which overlooks the Shropshire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
7.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
2.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
2.5 mi away
80 Watergate Street
80 Watergate Street
#1 of 76 in Chester
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | The Cheshire Cate, Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $89 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the places to stay in Chester, this historic lodge has some of the best tales to tell. Built in Christleton on a key civil war battle site, the Cheshire Cat played a crucial role in World War II before being restored as a warm and welcoming hotel in the 1970s.The lodge's 14 comfy en-suite rooms are complemented by a cosy pub, which is dripping with rustic character and rural charm. Here you can enjoy seasonally inspired country dining together with a range of cask ales and well-chosen wines.There are plenty of things to see and do in Chester. Fantastic shopping, black and white medieval architecture, historic city walls and the famous Chester Racecourse are just a few of its many attractions. Children and adults alike will love Chester zoo or you can explore the weaving footpaths of the unspoilt Delamere Forest. West Cheshire is full of rolling hills, sweeping valleys and quaint market towns worth exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cheshire Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Cat Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing