We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pied Bull, not too bad”
Review of Pied Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pied Bull Inn
Ranked #11 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Cardiff, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pied Bull, not too bad”
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Much the same as everyone else is saying. The rooms are large, warm and clean although a few things left a sour taste. Cigarette butts coming out of the bathroom sink, TV didn't work properly, a noisy ventialation fan, tired looking furnishings and bedding, very obvious springs in bed, inadequate parking (a real cheek to charge for it!), a lot of noise from the small lane alongside the pub - hopefully this was a one off but police cars and some annoying sod crying Alan at the top of her lungs at 3am didn't help with a good nights sleep.

But, ever the optimist! We stayed on a Thursday, took part in the friendly pub quiz (did so badly it hurts!). The evening meal was nice enough, great accompanying chips and the in house ale, Pied Eyed went down well. The staff were helpful and breakfast was okay although they definitely don't use Heinz beans, some vinegary ones instead. The location is fantastic with the tourist information office just metres away for those new to Chester.

The place lacks the personal touch though which perhaps isn't surprising since their priority is the pub and meals. I'd personally stay there again but I'd feel a little guilty recommending it to someone else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline19790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    190
    93
    56
    48
See reviews for
60
359
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Shockingly bad bed. Incredible heat even with the windows open. You could literally feel every spring in the bed.

Probably not ideal for aged/disabled due to stairs and uneven floors.

Breakfast okay. Slow service.

Totally over-priced at £75. A doss-house/YMCA would have better beds.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Imalrightjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My wife and I booked this room via Late Room for a weekend at the races.
The room is located above the kitchen of the hotel with two windows being the only ventilation available. Sadly the windows opened into a courtyard into which the kitchen aircon system discharged. The net result being hot air blown into the courtyard bouncing off the wall and re-entering the bed room to superheat the already intolerable atmosphere. We lasted one totally sleepless night before leaving just after possibly the most geasy breakfast available to man. Simply put 'DO NOT DO IT TO YOURSELF' you are better than this.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asitis085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Five Friends booked into the Pied Bull to celebrate one of my friends birthdays. We had a wonderful time. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The Premier Suite is 'huge' but all the rooms are a good size and well equipped with all you require for a short break in Chester. The food at the Inn was delicious. (especially the home made chips)Breakfast was substabtial and enjoyed by all of us. There is a lovely chinese restaurant about 2 doors away its small so you may have to book a table but its well worth it. We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton/manchester
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2010

we had a girly weekend here, sight seeing, shopping , and brill evening out . there was 10 of us all together aged from 30 to 60 (whom the 60 yr olds was in high spirts from all the alcohol they drank keeping up with the young ones ! lol.)
we arrived earlier at lunch time and checked in well before 2pm which the staff was really helpful and let us store our luggage until we could enter our rooms . so we had a couple of drinks ,then went out to see the sights and find out the history of chester , and did some shopping and find out the night life places to go. we arranged with the pub staff to have a table ready for 5.30pm for our evening meal . which when we arrived back our bags was already placed in our rooms and the table was all set and ready for us. the meal was beautiful and served excellent , prices were very reasonable and ample amount.
after the meal we hit the night seen. we were informed the bar's last orders was usually at 12 but we had a key to enter what ever time we liked , some did return at 12 and was served until 1am in which we bought a few night caps and sat talking till at least 2.30am till the other girls returned back (again these were the 60yr olds .lol) then retired to bed .
in the morning we went down to breakfast to find our table set for us and ready to serve us with what ever we liked . later in the morning we checked out our rooms and again the stafff stored our luggage as we were not being picked up until 4pm.
again we booked our table as the pub is really busy and popular . we all had the sunday lunch menu and was really pleased and fully satishfied with the price and amount eaten.
the staff was fantastic ,helpful, and very plesant , they could not help you enough.
the meals were beautiful ample and very reseaonable, cheap as chips and fresh.
rooms had charcter and was warm, and cosy comfortable beds, and clean.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boltongals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loughborough
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2010

booked a 2 night break at the pied bull for my 50th,location of the inn was brill.staff freindly and helpfull,breakfast was good kept you going most of theday .Room we had was cosy but not level,hence the age of the inn.You even get a key to the front door, which was a novelty to open the front door of the pub at 1-30am!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimb0b60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Engand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

The location of this hotel is fantastic, the full english breckfast gives you a good start to the day, the staff are very friendly and helpful, in all the pied bull was excellent for our weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,657 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 44 in Chester
1,147 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#13 of 44 in Chester
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pied Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Property: Pied Bull Inn
Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing