We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and enjoyable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pied Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pied Bull Inn
Ranked #19 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent and enjoyable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for one night. We were given a very warm and friendly welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The food was great. Old building steeped in history. We stayed in room 5, even though it was quiz night, it wasn't to noisy. Power shower was great, nearly blew me down the plug hole!
We would stay here again and definitely recommend to fellow travellers.
Vall and Cass.

Room Tip: The windows in room 5 didn't close fully. Although they brought us a heater, so it was very warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    180
    90
    56
    45
See reviews for
55
328
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We arrived at the Pied Bull parking was very difficult and ended up parking in a car park a little away from the Pied Bull . We check in and the atmosphere of the Inn appealed warm and cosy. We were given the keys to our room Number 2 well opening the door the first thing we notice was a stain on the throw over the bed , Bed linen got blood stains on , the room was of poor standard, wood chip paper on the walls really in desperate need of refurbishment , Bathroom shower ,the shower controls was broken taped up and loose taps on the wash hand basin. Bathroom door was painted until they obviously ran out of paint some bits white some cream.We booked the Inn on the understanding it was in the side the wall city and of character. But the standard was deplorable.We would not be recommending any one to stay there. But the staff were cheerful and the beer was good , breakfast on the other hand was a bit basic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyceannf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Northop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed in Chester at the Pied Bull hotel
loads of character lovely part of the city
staff fantastic beer great food ok
defo would recommend for a short stay
rooms were more than adequate even had a car park space for me

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffery k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice friendly, warm hotel. It is close to the Roman Wall and the city centre. Furniture is a little worn but clean and after all it is a very "old" hotel. Free WiFi and the breakfast is excellent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Menzies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

A decent enough pub to stay in - very good location, excellent beers. However, I feel that the 10 o'clock in the morning check-out and ( at weekends, anyway ) breakfast times of between 8am-9am is there more to suit the people running the establishment, than those who are paying to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mammy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stopped by for lunch while touring around Chester. The place is full of history... so old. Originally was a coach house that offered, food, ale and lodging for travellers. It was quaint to a tee. The staff provided good service though the food was not as good as I expected for English pub fare. Had the scampi as they were out of my original choice. The serving size was small.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Josephine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just spent the night at this hotel which is in the centre of Chester. Had a room at the back of the hotel which was not too noisy, it was small but adequate for my husband and myself.
We both found it very warm.
The only meal we had there was breakfast I asked for scrambled egg,bacon,tomato and mushroom they brought sausage bacon and tomato but they did take it back and change however my husband had finished his by the time they returned it.
But I would say that the hotel had character.

Room Tip: This hotel is in the centre of Chester no parking but you can park in a very close by car park which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fergusnpippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pied Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Property: Pied Bull Inn
Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing