We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quirky place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pied Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pied Bull Inn
Ranked #19 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“quirky place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

we stayed in chester just for one night and found a late deal for the pied bull. room was great, a little slanted with old furniture but all added to the character! found out the next morning our room was haunted too!
Breakfast was great and staff all really friendly!
pub downstairs was noisy but this didnt bother us...book into a pub - expect a little noise! were woken a few times in the night as our room faced the alley way/side street by some rowdy drunks but this was well after the bar downstairs had closed so nothing to do with them!
All in all would definatley stay here again if in chester :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    176
    89
    56
    44
See reviews for
54
321
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

goodn't get better value for for money than this. staff very friendly, meals excellant. place was spotless and could find no faults at all.
would certainly return if ever in chester. 10 out of 10.
would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: we had a double room on the first floor was simply furnished, the bed was extremely comfortable. Som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Was staying in chester for the Sealed Knot's display on the 10th-11th August, went to some pub near tesco as was told it was a real ale pub, that they were not. Got given a list of 6 better pubs to try out by one of the customers.

The Sitting bull bitter uses american and new zealand hops, made in the on site micro brewery, an intense hoppy flavour and have not tasted as good for a long time.

Did not try the food, but looked appetising :)
Friendly staff and beer cheaper than I usually pay all helps

Was camping at the racecourse, so did not use the rooms :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

spent a weekend in Chester to see the zoo and have a break.
Got a late deal on the large front room here which was supposed to be haunted, found the room very dark, nothing was level and full of very old furniture and creaking floorboards.
Needless to say it was perfect.
So much history in the building it was an amazing place to stay.
had breakfast and evening meal there and had a good time in the pub.
Will come back when were in Chester.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Centrally situated Inn in Chester. easy walk to all the sights especially the Cathedral. Hotel quite old world with lots of wood, narrow corridors and sloping floors with a cosy quirky feel to it. Rooms quite basic but met our needs. Good cooked breakfast included. We found easy parking near by as Inn only has 2 car spaces. The pub has its own brewery and the beer which is well worth sampling. There are also supposed to be a couple of ghosts inhabiting the Inn but we didn't have any sightings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandKiwifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

had a midweek break in chester,ideal location right in town,was not offered use of the small car park(must have been full)but there was over night parking a close walk away.spottless accommodation in a very old building,not an ultra modern place not for you if that's what you want, all facilities were in keeping with the hotel.thoroughly enjoyed our stay.even tried the beer that was brewed in there microbrewery.unfortunatly did not experience the ghosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestwick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

we usually stay at a more well known hotel in Chester but decided to try the Pied Bull.
its a great looking hotel from the outside and the reception area and bar look good.
the first thing that annoyed me was that your room bill was to be settled on arrival and you couldn't charge meals etc to your room.
I got room 14 on the top floor and was really disappointed by the size of the shower room and the basic furniture and the very small tv.
the mattress was cheap and uncomfortable, it just wasn't a very nice experience.
the food and the beer were quite expensive.
the only positive was that the staff were very pleasant.
I certainly wouldn't recommend the Pied Bull to any of my colleagues.
Really disappointed!

Room Tip: if you want to experience ye olde worlde Inn room, then this is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott060266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pied Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Property: Pied Bull Inn
Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing