We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall, What expected”
Review of Pied Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pied Bull Inn
Ranked #15 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overall, What expected”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good for one night stay, smack in the city centre.
Dinner was excellent, well above what we expected.
Small and cosy room although a bit dated but it was as expected.
Wifi was a bit hit and miss in the room but worked well in the bar.

Would stay again if i was staying in Chester, not too expensive and i loved the beers (i think they have their own micro brewery ???)

Good traditional very old Pub Hotel , excellent food and beers with warm and welcoming staff.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    183
    92
    56
    45
See reviews for
55
335
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The pub itself has a fascinating history and real depth of character. I would recommend stopping in for a pint, but would not recommend staying unless you are there out of season and it is cheaper. We paid 75 quid a night and it was just not up to standards. The room was too small and very noisy at night (they should install double glazing in order to keep the noisy drunkards from ruining a nights sleep). The shower did not work properly either and the bed was very squeaky. That said we did enjoy our stay and would not have felt ripped off if we had paid a more reasonable price. I have stayed in many UK inns and B&B's and would estimate it was worth about 45 quid a night. The food was also overpriced and, although it was nice enough, it was certainly not gourmet.

Room Tip: Go off season and then it may be worth the price, not worth more than 45 quid a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

excellent home brewed ales. bar staff with enthusiasm and knowledge about the beers. allowed to taste beers to establish which preferred. had game pie, home cooked and desserts, also produced in house which were really tasty. great evening out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHRCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I wanted a nice overnight stay where we could both have a shop/mooch around a very old city, and stay in a nice hotel, have a good meal etc. I booked us into the Pied Bull online. Unfortunately,
I couldn't see where to arrange on-site parking (£10 per night), and phoned to arrange this. My booking was taken for parking, but on our arrival, I was annoyed to find that the parking had not been arranged, and we had to go to the multi-storey car park around the corner. This at first seemed a problem, but the multi-storey is literally just around the corner, and actually cheaper! On our arrival, a very helpful young lady informed us that the Car Park was FREE after 3pm, and you only started paying after 7am! The parking cost for the full day was only £8.80 for 6+ hours! So we spent the rest of the day in Chester and drove home after 4pm.
The Pied Bull is a beautiful old 11th Century inn, within the ancient roman walled town of Chester. Easily accessing the beautiful old Roman wall just up the high street. We booked a "Luxury" room for £95, and were VERY happy with a huge oak-panelled room overlooking the street. A very comfortable bed, two wardrobes, a 32" TV (With not a great choice of channels, but we didn't go to watch TV) and two 2-seater settees! There was also a single bed if you need an extra for a child? The room could be a little noisy at night, as there is a night-club in town. We couldn't hear the music, but noisy late night revellers would walk (Literally, as we were part over the cloister) UNDER our room on their way home.
The Staff at the Pied Bull were very attentive and polite. I was intrigued that the senior staff seemed to be very young, but the certainly knew what they were doing, with their own Micro-brewery on site, so that lovely hoppy smell would waft around the bar. We had a very nice Bar meal and a lovely pint of local bitter. There were a LOT of various ales on sale, and I would imagine this place is a haven for CAMRA enthusiasts.
My wife went for a walk round the shops while I wandered into Chester Cathedral to take photographs (£3 suggested donation and No photo licence required). I found Chester to be very similar in beauty and grandeur as Lichfield Cathedral. There are many shops to lose yourself in, and all within a short walk.
Unable to decide where to eat, we ended up in the local cantonese restaurant, The Blue Bell, just under the cloisters near the hotel. Being a monday evening, it was very quiet, but the meal was very good, and staff attentive.
Chester is a very beautiful place for couples to visit, and a walk around the Roman walk is a great way to see Chester from a different angle. We started by the Hotel, on Northgate Street, Starting from the "Bridge of Sighs" overlooking the canal from about 100 feet up! On top of the wall, we meandered around past the canal, coming across old towers, bridges, the back of the cathedral, onto the lovely old clock/bridge which is seen in most pictures of Chester. The walk took a leisurely 1.5 hours to walk around, and we were ready for lunch. A very nice soup and sandwich at a restaurant behind the cathedral (Ellie's Bistro), and we were ready for more shopping.
Over all, Chester is a beautiful city to visit, and I would heartily recommend The Pied Bull to anyone, (but not if you're a light sleeper). This is a very old part of town, and if you want a quality room for a reasonable price, go to the Pied Bull. A room/place like this in London would easily cost you £500+ a night!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCowley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This 12th Century Inn is located opposite the cathedral and is very convenient for exploring the whole of Chester city centre. The staff are friendly and the building itself is full of character. However, I believe the guest rooms need some attention, not in terms of the structure as obviously wonky floors and period features are vital in retaining the building’s charm, but just a ‘freshen up’ in terms of dated and tired 1980's décor and bed linen (NB this relates to appearances not cleanliness as there were no issues with that at all). This combined with a little more attention to detail would quickly transform this place into a 'very good'. For example we booked a four poster room and unfortunately it just wasn't worth the extra we paid. The four poster itself was just a modern pine frame with a divan bed wedged in the middle, perfectly comfortable but just a bit disappointing. Breakfast was ok but the main issue here is that we had to be sitting down to eat it by 9am latest! This would have been fine if we had been staying on business during the week but it was just too early for us on a Sunday morning and, coupled with the fact that checkout was on the early side at 10am, it meant it was all a bit of a rush. A final tip - ask for a hairdryer when you check in if you need one as they keep them downstairs. We didn’t realise this until after we’d been in the shower and there is no phone in the room to call for assistance.

Room Tip: There's a ghost that supposedly haunts room 8 if you fancy a spooky experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkDolly101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
589 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This pub has its own micro brewery and its award winning Matador ale is well worth a visit. We also tasted Shuffle which completed this lovely sojourn in this historic city centre oasis. Opposite the best cheese shop in Chester. Friendly staff added to the experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for just on night. The staff were very welcoming and helpful (Jack especially). The hotel is very old and has wonderful character. The own brewed beer was very nice and the lounge/dining room had a really nice warm ambiance. Being able to park our car (there are only 2/3 spaces so you must book in advance if you want one) was useful although the £10.00 charge was a little on the steep side.
The food in the restaurant was pretty good but in my view over priced. The cooking was simple and the portions not large but the prices were high. I expected rather more for the price.
Our room on the 1st floor was a good size with two metal framed single beds which proved to be more comfortable than they looked. The TV was a small 14" portable which should have been replaced with a modern flat screen years ago. There was no radio although there were drink making facilities. The shower (over the bath) was excellent although my wife couldn't use it because she couldn't manage to climb into it. The stairs up the 1st floor are what you would expect of things built 400+ years ago but are nice and wide and not too steep. There is no lift of course in such an old building. If any potential guest has mobility problems the stairs may be an issue. The stairs to the 2nd floor are very narrow and very steep. Make sure you ask for a 1st floor room if these steep stairs would be difficult for you.
The room was a bit run down and shabby. It was not spotlessly clean but was just about acceptable. Breakfast was very good although the 9.00 cut off time is a little tight.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, the location and friendly staff made up for the shortfalls. More attention to the details and some investment would make a huge difference. We may stay here again.

Room Tip: Beware the steep stairs up to the 2nd floor. Book car parking in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeemerBikerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pied Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Property: Pied Bull Inn
Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing