We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character in a central location”
Review of Pied Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pied Bull Inn
Ranked #11 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This 12th Century Inn is located opposite the cathedral and is very convenient for exploring the whole of Chester city centre. The staff are friendly and the building itself is full of character. However, I believe the guest rooms need some attention, not in terms of the structure as obviously wonky floors and period features are vital in retaining the building’s charm, but just a ‘freshen up’ in terms of dated and tired 1980's décor and bed linen (NB this relates to appearances not cleanliness as there were no issues with that at all). This combined with a little more attention to detail would quickly transform this place into a 'very good'. For example we booked a four poster room and unfortunately it just wasn't worth the extra we paid. The four poster itself was just a modern pine frame with a divan bed wedged in the middle, perfectly comfortable but just a bit disappointing. Breakfast was ok but the main issue here is that we had to be sitting down to eat it by 9am latest! This would have been fine if we had been staying on business during the week but it was just too early for us on a Sunday morning and, coupled with the fact that checkout was on the early side at 10am, it meant it was all a bit of a rush. A final tip - ask for a hairdryer when you check in if you need one as they keep them downstairs. We didn’t realise this until after we’d been in the shower and there is no phone in the room to call for assistance.

Room Tip: There's a ghost that supposedly haunts room 8 if you fancy a spooky experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkDolly101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 620 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

This pub has its own micro brewery and its award winning Matador ale is well worth a visit. We also tasted Shuffle which completed this lovely sojourn in this historic city centre oasis. Opposite the best cheese shop in Chester. Friendly staff added to the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VanessaRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for just on night. The staff were very welcoming and helpful (Jack especially). The hotel is very old and has wonderful character. The own brewed beer was very nice and the lounge/dining room had a really nice warm ambiance. Being able to park our car (there are only 2/3 spaces so you must book in advance if you want one) was useful although the £10.00 charge was a little on the steep side.
The food in the restaurant was pretty good but in my view over priced. The cooking was simple and the portions not large but the prices were high. I expected rather more for the price.
Our room on the 1st floor was a good size with two metal framed single beds which proved to be more comfortable than they looked. The TV was a small 14" portable which should have been replaced with a modern flat screen years ago. There was no radio although there were drink making facilities. The shower (over the bath) was excellent although my wife couldn't use it because she couldn't manage to climb into it. The stairs up the 1st floor are what you would expect of things built 400+ years ago but are nice and wide and not too steep. There is no lift of course in such an old building. If any potential guest has mobility problems the stairs may be an issue. The stairs to the 2nd floor are very narrow and very steep. Make sure you ask for a 1st floor room if these steep stairs would be difficult for you.
The room was a bit run down and shabby. It was not spotlessly clean but was just about acceptable. Breakfast was very good although the 9.00 cut off time is a little tight.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, the location and friendly staff made up for the shortfalls. More attention to the details and some investment would make a huge difference. We may stay here again.

Room Tip: Beware the steep stairs up to the 2nd floor. Book car parking in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeemerBikerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We normally go with super recognizable chain hotels when traveling, but decided it was time to get out of a rut. I'm crazy about historical "old stuff" so I was enthused about a 450 year old building. It seemed to have mixed reviews, but we were having an adventure anyway.

The whole of the building, despite is obvious age was in great condition, and very very clean. The reception staff and bartenders were all really friendly and helpful with us, and gave us lots of local advice. Check in was super smooth and fast, and our room was easy to find. I booked the four poster room, and it was as you can see from the pictures *HUGE* and again very clean, nicely decorated. On a whole, the stay had a few pluses and of course a few minuses too. The bed is beautiful, but it's not soft. It might have actually been one step past firm. The shower was absolutely fabulous!! but unfortunately the curtain was a bit short. There were ample heaters in our room, and the windows opened too (made husband very happy as he likes a breeze). Furniture was comfy other than that, and room was quiet at night.

There were no ground floor rooms, and I don't think that you can even get in without doing stairs. Everything, including the bar toilets was again clean. The pub is super close to both parts of the roman city wall and the Chester Cathedral, and 3 minutes walk from the forum market and the bus exchange. I do believe they have a couple of parking spaces, but that's it.

We had one lunch and a couple breakfasts there, and there was a nice variety, some classics and some newer things. The food was not overly remarkable, but very tasty and reasonably priced. My husband tasted several of their beer made on site and was fairly impressed with those too.

Room Tip: The four-poster room and the master suite are biggest, other rooms are a bit more sparse. Obviously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenJenMcMostard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights over easter the food was very good service was friendly. the micro brewery produced excelent bitter.the breakfast was ok.stayed in room 10 nice little room .but could do with a new small flat screen tv. a radio would be nice. also the bedding could be a litle nicer.also breakfast time window 8am 9am was a little bit harsh when you a on holiday.fresh flowers on landing would be better than the tired old silk ones.but please dont let these small negative comments stop you from enjoying this nice old pub i would gladly stay here on my next visit to the great city of Chester.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I usually post positive reviews, but don't feel I can do that in this case. We stayed on 6th April 2013, just for a night out in Chester. In all fairness this is the best I can manage to say about the Pied Bull:
Positives - good food and beer, very friendly welcoming staff. Great location within the city walls.
Negatives - unclean (would go as far as saying dirty) room.
All in all, not worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenbethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Called in for a bar meal,staff really friendly,above and beyond.we both had great meal,me liver dinner and my husband,had the burger/fully loaded,excellent will be back! Pity not enough car parking spaces,thirteen rooms maybe fighting over couple of spaces,otherwise we would stay here on our next visit.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,733 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#19 of 45 in Chester
298 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pied Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $82 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing