We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely hotel”
Review of Pied Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pied Bull Inn
Ranked #18 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really lovely hotel”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Me & my partner stayed at the Pied Bull for only 1 night, as we were going on to Wales for the weekend, to meet some friends of ours, as I haven't been to Chester before my partner suggested the Pied Bull because he had been in that area before on a weekend with his mates, we arrived before we could check in but nothing was to much trouble, the young man behind the reception even came out to direct us into the car park which was situated in the side street (even getting his dad to move his car for ours!) which was a very nice gesture when we got shown our room I was flabbergasted because my partner had booked the premier suite! It was beautiful & I felt like a queen for the night! It was spotless & because of the location it's just right near to the shops & bars! Plus the Pied Bull even brew there own beers on the premises, & what can I say about the breakfast it's probably one of the best breakfasts we've ever had & we've had a few! We asked for things not on the menu & everything's was cooked really well & delicious compliments to the chef!! :) I would recommend it to anyone we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visit43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    184
    92
    56
    48
See reviews for
58
338
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is located 2 minutes walk from the Town Hall and 10 minutes from the Eastgate Clock and shops on Eastgate Street. The architecture is simply stunning and the owners obviously take great pride in keeping the building in well maintained order. Staff are well trained, attentive and very obliging. We stayed in a luxury double room, which is large compared to other rooms on our trip. The tariff was most reasonable. The room interiors were kept as painstakingly close to the original as possible it seems. The hotel food was of a better than acceptable standard and the rooms/housekeeping very clean. For those who enjoy a pale ale the hotel brews its own range of beers and I particularly enjoyed the "Bulls Hit", which turned out to be a quality thirst quencher. The proximity to the "wall" is excellent and we were able to walk most of the walled city but, maintenance work limited us to about 70%. We strongly recommend that if you visit, you make the time to at least walk the wall from Northgate Street to Bridgegate. It is a truly beautiful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

After a morning touring the sites of Chester we stopped off here for our lunch. The food was excellent, served by pleasant staff in very clean and welcoming surroundings.

If you are in Chester and want a good meal and lots of it then I can fully recommend here. It is on the right side of Northgate Street as you head out of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phaphos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Would like to recommend this friendly hotel to anyone who is thinking of a break in chester.
From the moment we arrived through the front door you knew it was going to be fine. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were clean not big but comfortable and had a oldie feel about the place,supposed to have a room that's haunted. The food is good and reasonably priced ,but don't take the steak not worth the money was a bit dissapointed. Apart from that very good hotel and perfect location for exploring chester .

Room Tip: Can't think of any tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hall4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Spent two nights at this hotel on an organised trip via Porters Promotions and a great time was had by all! The hotel is ideally situated for a leisurely walk into Chester and also for a day at the races. The hotel is quirky and full of history. The staff were excellent and were always happy to help. Staying so close in town meant we could walk to the racecourse and enjoy a well earned drink on our return in a great atmosphere so well done to both The Pied Bull and Porters Promotions in ensuring our trip to Chester was excellent and we cant wait to do it again soon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINCS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Popped in for Sunday lunch - as always, an excellent choice of beer.
Being from God's own, I had to try the over-the-pennines take on Yorkshire Pudding. We wouldn't expect it to come up to our exacting standards, but very tasty.
Everyone enjoyed their roasts and agreed it was all very good value - and the portions were bordering on Yorkshire size.
Staff very friendly.
Most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accordionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our first nights stay in England after flying into Manchester from Toronto, Canada. We booked the hotel on the basis of reviews that continued to state “great value for the price”. I will admit that the price was one of the cheapest that we paid throughout our 2 week adventure across England and Wales, but on that note, it was also the least comfortable. Although situated in what one would agree to be a quaint English Pub relished in history, the room was not the most comfortable. Again, you get what you pay for. In the Bull’s defense, the staff were friendly and the location was great- parking close by, and the main streets and all of Chester’s beautiful sights were just steps outside of the Pied Bull’s door.

Room Tip: "Quiz Night" gets very loud and makes it difficult to sleep. I'd advise joining the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathersadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,074 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#21 of 44 in Chester
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pied Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Property: Pied Bull Inn
Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing