We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pied Bull "IS NOT" A library”
Review of Pied Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pied Bull Inn
Ranked #15 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Mission Viejo, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Pied Bull "IS NOT" A library”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you want to be in a great active and noisy hotel, this is it.For me, noise comes in many "types", this is happy sounds. The staff are really there to listen and be A big help. It all starts at the top, the owners care and want their customers happy. The staff is small but hard working.
The building dates back to 1533. The floors are A little uneven, the ceiling is ok for A 5"10'
person but, more than that "be careful". The walls are over 18In. thick so there is NOT much noise to deal with.(with the windows closed) There are many small steps up to get to the rooms I am old and I have been there A few times.(the people and place are worth it.)
AH, the food......Well I must say it is always good and some times better. The portions are normal and the service is good.(a little slow,but coffee right away)
We have been there A few times A will return it is A happy place with good people and nosy.

Room Tip: The rooms are similar for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigFootzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    186
    93
    56
    48
See reviews for
58
351
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

nice old world pub , staff were very nice and helpful,the breakfast was very nice, very close to the centre and shops ect, bus staion is just round the corner,
i would not recomend this hotel if you have any mobility problems as the stairs to rooms are not easy to climb, the only thing i didnt like was the old brown blankets on the beds but we took ours off as it was warm enough, there was noise from young club goers late sat night but sun and mon was quiet, i would stay again

Room Tip: rooms on the front can be noisy late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stopped in the hotel on 6th and 7th of August. We wanted a hotel in the city centre and this seemed ideal. The building is old and full of character.
The staff are amazing especially Lauren and any Hotel would be glad to have them as employees. The bar stocks a good selection of real ales and has a nice atmosphere. The bedroom was a little tired regarding furnishings and décor but was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good and served piping hot.
Our only gripe was the price we paid. We booked through laterooms in June and were quoted £180 for two nights in a twin room. When we checked in to the hotel we paid this price and thought nothing of it. We got chatting to another couple in the bar who had booked through Trivado. They paid a lot less. We checked at reception on the room prices and found out a double room is from £80 a night. If we had just walked in and booked a room for two nights we would have saved £20 (same hotel next week is £59 on late rooms), when we queried this we were told to contact late rooms. After several phone calls it appears that because the hotel states FROM £80 per night they can charge what they like. They thought the hotel would be busy that week so a higher charge could be obtained. Lesson learnt, check with hotel and late availability firms to check price before booking

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Pied Bull for 2 nights beginning of this week. We stayed in room 8 the 1st night, which we found too hot and because of the noise outside we couldn't leave the window open. That was abit frustrating so at breakfast I casually mentioned it to reception who I'm pleased to say were very helpful and agreed to move us for the final night to an overall better, cooler room. ( I think it was the cleaner I spoke to at reception and she was very helpful, an asset to the place)

The staff were friendly and there was a relaxed feel about the pub. We enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast is great. Couldn't fault it!

We would definetely stay again on another visit to Chester. Thankyou to all at Pied Bull.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FemaleTraveller9094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Free wifi in the room was non-existant unless you walked around the corridors looking for a weak signal. avoid room 2 where the windows overlook at window height straight onto an outdoor metal landing leading to other rooms causing in unwise to leave windows open and very noisy on a late Saturday night!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanhLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

A lovely pub with plenty of character and a staircase that feels wonky before you've even been near the bar! The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the location is excellent.
However, our double room was a bit poky and tired looking, with a very soft, old mattress. It could have been cleaner but was certainly habitable, with a decent en-suite. My parents had a twin room on the next floor which was much more spacious so perhaps it's the luck of the draw.
Breakfast was very good. I'd say overall it was worth the price, but I'll probably try somewhere else on my next visit to Chester.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grinngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espinho, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Good ambient
Great decoration
Good Service
old building so don't expect great rooms, still ok for short stays
food and beer - Excellent

Room Tip: You have to try the hunted rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,633 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pied Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Property: Pied Bull Inn
Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing