We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor restaurant service”
Review of Pied Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pied Bull Inn
Ranked #11 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Been eating at the Pied Bull every bank holiday and the occasional SUnday for the last two years. However doubt if we will again after ebservice on Easte Sunday. My husbands dinner was given to someone else by mistake.When we pointed this out the meal was taken from the wrong person and given to my husband and told he's only had a mouthful. When we complained the meal was taken away we thought to get a new one. But no the original was grout back with a little extra meat on. We knew this as there was pepper on the dinner. My husband doesn't use pepper. When we complained again we were given an e mail address to complain. A member of our party has done this and has apparently been told we are barred from eating there in future. We usually spend about £200 - £300 as there are fifteen of us. Oh well they're loss.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for Pied Bull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 607 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Had a meal at the Pied Bull with a group of friends on Easter Sunday. One friend ordered a lamb dinner & one friend ordered a beef dinner. The waitress got the dinners mixed up and was only realised after my friend had eaten some of the lamb dinner which by now was covered in salt and pepper. On realising the mistake the waitress took the lamb dinner from my friend and swapped it for the beef dinner. We complained that the dinner had already been started and a roast potato and veg had been eaten. The waitress response was that "he' only had a mouthful". They took the dinner away & returned with fresh lamb however it was still covered in the original salt and pepper minus a potato. We complained to the manager who did not want to know. We have emailed the manager at the pied bull today only to be told we are now barred. I would not recommend this pub to my worst enemy

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

From the friendliness of the staff and the warmth of the atmosphere we expected delightful food. How disappointing. The bread (virtually a loaf so they ticked the quantity rather than quality box) and oil/balsamic starter (tasted more like cooking oil than olive oil) to the 35 minute wait for pie of the day (once the crust was popped we discovered the dish was half empty) to the gammon and eggs with chips that had to be sent back to the kitchen as the chef had omitted to cook them - will never be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed for one night whilst enjoying the sights of Chester. The Pied Bull was in the Camra Good Beer Guide so we thought it would be a good pub with ok rooms and the website sold it to us. The only room available was the four poster room (3).

The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The pub, the beer, the room and the breakfast were all distinctly average.

The blanket on our bed was dirty, the bathroom shower curtain was too short and so attacked you as you used the shower. No hairdryer unless you went down to reception. Lots of noise from other guests. I burnt my leg on the towel rail, it got dangerously hot.

Room 3 had a four poster bed, this was a divan inside a 4 poster frame. It was ok but I wouldn't pay extra for it. The room was large and had a sofa and 2 armchairs but they were a bit past it.

We parked in the market car park down the road, it cost almost £10.

Breakfast service was slow. I expected a bit better, we got 3 half slices of toast between two of us so had to fight for the final piece. The lack of attention to detail let the pied bull down across the board.

We weren't expecting 5* but I wanted a good nights sleep and a yummy breakfast, we got neither.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjgreen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night and the building and pub itself are very charming. You can't get a better location, and staff were very nice and helpful. However the room itself was pretty poor. It stank of a cabbage like smell and the smell didn't go away. Bed was lop-sided and just a very old small portable tv in the room, also a lot of noise from other rooms throughout the night. I guess this would be a perfect place for hen/stag stays but i was expecting more for £80. I would have been pretty gutted staying here more than one night but we had two more nights at a different hotel in Cheshire which was fab, otherwise I would have been asking to move. We ate there and couldn't fault the food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsg3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

we have just come back from staying two nights at the pied bull inn. it was lovely the staff were really nice nothing was to much trouble. we had food it was amazing. the room was well looked after and stocked well with tea and coffee. it is very old and very charming andwe would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: we stayed it the four poster bed room
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We only stayed one night, but found the staff at The Pied Bull to be very helpful and friendly and we loved the room. On arrival we were shown to our room rather than pointed in the right direction and my bag was carried for me. This is a rare display of hospitality. During the remainder of our stay this level of service continued. We only had a quick snack from the bar, but it was lovely and very reasonable and delivered to the room quickly and the ale we sampled (a few times :O)) was also very tasty. Breakfast was probably the most disappointing part of the stay, not that there was actually anything wrong with it - just didn't live up to expectations because everything else had been so good. Yes the floors are uneven and the handmade staircase is certainly not true, but this is a very old building and so what would you expect? The Pied Bull offers great value for money accommodation with friendly staff. We had room 9 which is the premium room, but we had this at a rate of £69.00 inc of breakfast and another added value - the broadband service at the hotel is also free of charge to residents!

Room Tip: The premium suite is large and has lots of character
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiffy69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 44 in Chester
1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 44 in Chester
761 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pied Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $83 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing