We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pied Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pied Bull Inn
Ranked #19 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay in average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed for one night whilst enjoying the sights of Chester. The Pied Bull was in the Camra Good Beer Guide so we thought it would be a good pub with ok rooms and the website sold it to us. The only room available was the four poster room (3).

The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The pub, the beer, the room and the breakfast were all distinctly average.

The blanket on our bed was dirty, the bathroom shower curtain was too short and so attacked you as you used the shower. No hairdryer unless you went down to reception. Lots of noise from other guests. I burnt my leg on the towel rail, it got dangerously hot.

Room 3 had a four poster bed, this was a divan inside a 4 poster frame. It was ok but I wouldn't pay extra for it. The room was large and had a sofa and 2 armchairs but they were a bit past it.

We parked in the market car park down the road, it cost almost £10.

Breakfast service was slow. I expected a bit better, we got 3 half slices of toast between two of us so had to fight for the final piece. The lack of attention to detail let the pied bull down across the board.

We weren't expecting 5* but I wanted a good nights sleep and a yummy breakfast, we got neither.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjgreen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    176
    89
    56
    44
See reviews for
55
321
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night and the building and pub itself are very charming. You can't get a better location, and staff were very nice and helpful. However the room itself was pretty poor. It stank of a cabbage like smell and the smell didn't go away. Bed was lop-sided and just a very old small portable tv in the room, also a lot of noise from other rooms throughout the night. I guess this would be a perfect place for hen/stag stays but i was expecting more for £80. I would have been pretty gutted staying here more than one night but we had two more nights at a different hotel in Cheshire which was fab, otherwise I would have been asking to move. We ate there and couldn't fault the food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsg3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

we have just come back from staying two nights at the pied bull inn. it was lovely the staff were really nice nothing was to much trouble. we had food it was amazing. the room was well looked after and stocked well with tea and coffee. it is very old and very charming andwe would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: we stayed it the four poster bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We only stayed one night, but found the staff at The Pied Bull to be very helpful and friendly and we loved the room. On arrival we were shown to our room rather than pointed in the right direction and my bag was carried for me. This is a rare display of hospitality. During the remainder of our stay this level of service continued. We only had a quick snack from the bar, but it was lovely and very reasonable and delivered to the room quickly and the ale we sampled (a few times :O)) was also very tasty. Breakfast was probably the most disappointing part of the stay, not that there was actually anything wrong with it - just didn't live up to expectations because everything else had been so good. Yes the floors are uneven and the handmade staircase is certainly not true, but this is a very old building and so what would you expect? The Pied Bull offers great value for money accommodation with friendly staff. We had room 9 which is the premium room, but we had this at a rate of £69.00 inc of breakfast and another added value - the broadband service at the hotel is also free of charge to residents!

Room Tip: The premium suite is large and has lots of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiffy69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We had a one night stay here, staff were friendly, room not very clean dust everywhere,we had evening meal little pricey but very good, break fast ok, no choice of brown or white bread, side door was open so it was cold and the waitress kept going out for a cigarette, then serving you your breakfast, we got the room for £49.00 offer, room price would have been £80.00 would not pay that

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had a meal here quite early on a Friday evening,we hadn't booked a table but got one no problem. We were served at the bar by a nice friendly staff member who then brought us some menu's over. I had Gammon steak which was nice and my hubby had homemade pie of the day which was lamb and veg,which was also nice. We were served by nice friendly staff thoroughout and will definately return.quite reasonably priced aswell.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

While it did not deter us from enjoying our weekend, I was quite disappointed with the rooms. We spent 2 nights there but our room didn't get serviced at all although we did get clean towels when we happened to bump into the housekeeper on the landing. The bed wasn't made, bins weren't emptied and the cups were not changed and no cleaning done. I am sure if we had asked, then there wouldln't have been a problem but you expect this service without asking! However, the staff were very friendly, lovely breakfast although I thought it was a bit early to stop serving at 9 am on a weekend, and we had a good meal on the Friday night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pied Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Property: Pied Bull Inn
Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing