We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Pied Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pied Bull Inn
Ranked #11 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great place to stay, right in the heart of the city walls, comfortable twin room with en-suite Bathroom, Great breakfast even for a veggie!!, staff very friendly and helpful, will definitely be back to stay there, good value, steep but fasinating staircase.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesfoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 619 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

We had previously ate & drank at the Pied Bull and found the staff very welcoming serving excellent food. With the added attraction of maybe seeing one of the resident ghosts we, along with our dear friends from Australia, decided to stay at there. From the point of making the booking, to arriving at the Pied Bull and whilst we were their nothing (and I mean nothing) was too much trouble for any of the staff. Special thanks must go to Vikki, Lauren and Dave but it goes without saying a big 'thank you' to those whose names we did not get.

Parking is limited but we were kindly directed to a parking area where were allowed to park free for the duration.

The tariff of £75 for a double/twin room is very good - same may quibble at this price and yes the room I would best describe as a functional yet clean room with a very comfy bed but the breakfast was piping hot and of the highest quality. Add to the fact that you are within the walled city you cannot fault the Pied Bull.

The Pied Bull has recently won the CAMRA 2012 award and with it now having a micro brewery (which Dave was very proud to show us) it will continue to draw in customers wanting excellent food and drink.

The only thing that disappointed us was that we did not see either of the resident ghosts - good excuse to go back to the Pied Bull.

Would I go back to the Pied Bull - without hesitation :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOriginalBaldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Pre booking a car park space was a must for us and having been in the Pied Bull before for a drink gave us a good perception of its location in relation to all the sites and was the main reason for the stay. The welcome was friendly and the staff were very helpful and informative.Food was tasty and the real ales a must to try. The room was clean and tidy and met our requirements and the overall stay was great. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the top floor for a quiter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chillo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed overnight at the Pied Bull with breakfast included. The location is very good, right in the heart of Chester city centre and the Inn itself is steeped in history. The room we stayed in was clean and the bed was comfortable. The ceiling in our room was very low so remember to duck if you pass under the hanging ceiling lights! The en-suite was also clean but very compact and a bit tricky to maneuver around, also there was nowhere to put damp towels. My husband found it difficult to sleep because of the noisy revellers passing by outside which continued well into the early hours of the morning, hardly the fault of the Inn or it's staff though!
We are both vegans and were promised a vegan breakfast. We were pleased to be presented with a vegan version of a cooked breakfast which we both enjoyed. We found the staff to be helpful and the overall experience was a positive one. I'd recommend this establishment for a short stay in Chester.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank veganvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed at the Pied Bull for one night last weekend the 10th September 2011 with my wife, sister and brother in law. We arrived at midday on the 10th to a very warm welcome from the gentleman on reception. Our rooms weren’t ready when we arrived which was understandable as it was only about midday. We decided to have a bite to eat before we made our way to the races, and we all ordered a sandwich from the menu. The food came promptly and all the different sandwiches we had were delicious. Once back from the races we were checked in and given our room keys and remote controls for our respective televisions which did seem a little unusual! The room was a decent size with a small on suite bathroom. It was clean but a little tiered and the mattress on the bed had definitely seen better days. But apart from that on the positive side the room had a good stock of tea, coffee, milk etc and it had a built in hair dryer. The bathroom as I have said was small but functional, and had complimentary soap and shampoo. My only criticism was the shower rose would not stay in position and kept sliding down the pole. Now to the major plus point of this hotel….the staff. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left they could not do enough for us. There was a problem with our dinner reservation we had made in advance of our visit which meant we were stuck with no where to go, Luke the manager went across the street to the local Italian to see if they could fit us in, and even brought back a menu for us to look at, as it was they couldn’t fit us in until late in the evening so we decided to have our evening meal at the Pied Bull as well, a good choice as it turned out as the food was excellent. For a short stay in Chester or a meal I would have no hesitation in recommending the Pied Bull.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Whilst passing through Chester we were looking for traditional pub for a lunch. After passing a few contemporary outlets we came across the Pied Bull. Reputedly one of the oldest pubs in historic Chester and very atmospheric we found a quiet corner.
Whilst we were looking at menu we were asked by a member of staff if we wanted a drink and advised upon the availability of the local real ales. Not expecting table service in a pub this was a nice surprise. The beer suggested was just right for my taste.

I had a fillet steak which was absolutely delicious and my wife had an salad both very enjoyable. But must make mention of the service from Luke who despite training a new member of staff had time to chat to us and was a natural for the job and made our visit so pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We enjoyed the first part of our stay at the Pied Bull in Chester. We were welcomed by a young man who, while distracted and chatting to a waitress, gave us tolerable service.

We didn't eat in the pub, instead eating at a restaurant further into the city centre. Our stay in Chester was enjoyable, and we made the most of our stay by walking around the walls, seeing the castle, and visiting the ice cream factory nearby, which was fun!

However, the Pied Bull added nothing to our visit. A couple of our friends stayed there a few months ago, and warned us about sloppy service and an abrasive, ineffective landlord. The room was fine at best. Breakfast wasn't 'continental' as advertised, and there was no parking available, which we found strange on a week night, when the hotel was quiet.

No major problems, but we wouldn't go there again. The room wasn't especially clean, and service at breakfast was poor. Staff were neither professional nor particularly friendly. We were made to feel like we were being rushed out of there. We'd expect more value for money from a pub that advertises one room charge outside, and more when you actually go in to book.....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#19 of 45 in Chester
295 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pied Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $82 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing