We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
63
15
6
8
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
15
6
8
24
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 116 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Upon arriving for a social event for a day & evening, us and our friends were greeted at reception by the owner stating we were early; then he told us off as our friends bedroom wasn't ready (even though they'd been told via email it would be). Nice welcome.
The place is filthy, cluttered and awful. Its not 'eccentric' or 'quintessentially english' its just downright grubby. The house needs a good clean and the owner a course in customer service. The carpets are dirty, there is junk everywhere filling every available space and it is dusty and full of cobwebs.
The service is just downright terrible. How anyone can treat paying customers in such a rude and abrupt way is beyond me in this time of recession when good hotels and b&b's are struggling.
The worst part though (yes it does get worse) is that they don't have a cash policy (!!!)...because apparentley they said "people steal money". So all of our party had to put credit cards behind the bar and a 'tab' was set up. However when we asked how much a drink was they couldn't tell us!!!!!! So basically we were ordering drinks, they had our credit cards and we had no idea what we were being charged! We weren't getting receipts or having to sign for anything - madness!....and I am not sure this is even legal?
My husband and I didn't stay there long, we felt so uncomfortable - so we got a taxi home early. All of our friends felt the same. We will never return.
If you like good service, a nice atmosphere, a good time, good food - then DO NOT go here. Waste of money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived at Frogg Manor to an extremely cluttered and dirty reception area and no-one there. After ringing the bell and shouting through to the kitchen several times we were finally able to check in. Things didn't get any better when we opened the door to our room. It was old fashioned and dirty with lots of old dusty books, cuddly toys and radios. The wallpaper in the bathroom was filthy and the hand held shower didn't work as it was impossible to find the right temperature - either freezing cold or scalding. Furthermore, for the price we were paying, a cooked breakfast should be included in the cost but there's a premium for anything other than cereal and toast. The hotel is in serious need of an update and a thorough clean and as a result it's vastly over-priced. I wouldn't stay here again if I was paid to do so.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

For a family birthday, we thought, that it would be good fun to visit this, " quirky " hotel. As we drove up to the hotel, my heart sank, the building was extremely neglected. The reception was very messy, with boxes every where, our rooms, which were suites, were very unkempt to say the least but we didn't let it dampen our excitement of a night, of good food and dancing, which we weren't disappointed by, the food was lovely although the service was so bad it was laughable........ with a few glasses of wine! We did dance until the small hours but as the wine haze wore off and we went down for our "chill out lunch" the following day, we had time to look around our hotel, it was filthy, dead flies, dirty carpets in fact every where we looked was covered in dirt and looked like it hadn't been cleaned for years, this is no exaggeration. The food, regurgitated from the night before, the condiments were unrecognizable as to what they once were. We payed our five star hotel price and left. This place may have been "quirky" in its hay day but now its just very over priced with rude staff and filthy from its froggy top to bottom.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christinepoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This hotel is like no other I have ever stayed, it is very very different. I think it has had its day in relation to quality, it is very run down, the owners are friendly but excentric to say the least. It is best described as "The Real Faulty Towers" with a lot of "The Adams Family" style household. Only go here if you like things a bit weird and you are not at all fussy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trav97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

For a stay with a distinct difference , impeccable manners , bespoke service , its like you have been transported to the 1930's (for all the good reasons).
John Sykes and his beautiful partner are delightful hosts and the other staff are lovely too.
Of all the hotels I have ever stayed in this one isd the most unique and enjoyable.
The party nights (Fri & Sat) are legendary....give them a try please....and the gourmet food...can still taste the tender steak I last had...
I have applied many times for the role of Entertainments Manager...if only :-)

Room Tip: just ask John...maybe try haggling...he is a gent.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin1957_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews